The wrong direction

Well, it’s official: I’m losing hope in this first Clomid cycle. Today is CD15 and the OPK line was lighter than it has been for the past three mornings. So, no “fade-in” pattern afterall. The line was practically not even there…barely any LH in my system, folks. I have to admit, because all of my blood tests have come back normal, and because the Provera always seems “work” (in the sense that I always have withdrawal bleeds within 48 hours of taking the last pill), I was super-hopeful that the 50mg of Clomid would do the trick.

I will call my RE’s office on Tuesday morning. They will take blood on CD21 to check in on my progesterone level,  just to confirm I wasn’t getting bogus OPK readings. I’m certain that I’m not: I have no CM, none of the elusive Mittelschmerz people talk about. The only thing I do have, I think, is some slight crampiness in my ovary regions. I think. Dr. Google tells me this is because FSH and LH are circulating and stimulating my ovaries. But honestly, I could defnitely be imaging this stuff. Or maybe I’m not imaging it, maybe there really is something going on inside, it’s just not enough.

Whatever is up, it’s not turning the OPK positive. So, I’ll give it a few more days, I’ll call the doc, I’ll get the blood test, and then we’ll see what’s next. I’m guessing they’ll want to up my dose to 100mg. For the next go around, I’m going to request some extra monitoring. It seems many REs have a protocol of ultrasounds (for follicle and uterine lining measurements) and trigger shots at the ready. I totally understand why Dr. C didn’t make that part of the plan for the first try. He didn’t want to stress me out, bring me into the office unneccessarily, etc etc. And it was basically a “baseline” cycle. So, fine. The baseline showed I’m going to need a little more help. I want to make sure we’re covering allllll of the bases next time.

I realize all is not lost. There are still a couple of days left before this is officially a bum cycle. But with the line fading in the wrong direction, I’m sort of mentally and emotionally gearing up for whatever could be next…

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The wrong direction

  1. K

    Hi! 🙂 Thanks so much for the kind words!!! 🙂 I took a OPK test just randomly on Thursday (10/29) and it wasn’t as dark as the test line, but I have NEVER seen a second line, so I figured I would get a darker line the next day, unfortunately, I didn’t get any lines… I inputed all my info in the TCOYF software and it said I ovulated yesterday and my temp jumped up today. I had EWCM on Monday (10/26) but only on that day… so I dunno… I highly recommend you reading the book: Taking Charge of Your Fertility by Toni Weschler if you haven’t picked it up… and purchasing the software for $40 (?) It’s better than Fertility Friend for the BBT charts. The book is really informative and I learned a WHOLE lot that my own doctor couldn’t tell me 🙂 HTH! Good luck and I hope that this you get your O soon! Don’t lose hope because I O’d on CD30! 🙂

    • Thanks for the info! My doc asked me not to BBT for this cycle, he wanted to “take away as much stress as possible,” but I will prob give that a try next go-round. Great news on your late ovulation tho, that is so awesome. It gives me hope! (It’s been 10+ years since I ovulated so I’m scanning my bod for symptoms like crazy.) Btw, I think you BDed at just the right time. 🙂

      • K

        I totally understand the stress level of charting BBT. I was so obsessed with it before and I couldn’t find the day I ovulated, so it just made me freak out even more- I stopped charting after a month and a half. I hope everything works out for you and your hubby! 🙂

Leave a Reply

