A good weekend

Happy Monday! I hope everyone had a fabulous Halloween weekend. Mine was quite productive…I had a lot of WORK to do (wah wah wah), but I did get a bunch done. And I had a couple of nice runs outside. And I made it to YOGA yesterday evening! Yay! My hubs was even busier than I was this weekend, doing a bunch of work on a school project. He was up working until 3am last night, the poor guy. That made it the perfect night for him to cash in on one of the dinners I owe him.

See, for the last few years we’ve played this fun wager game every week during NFL season. We each pick which teams we think will win in all the games being played, and whoever gets more picks right, WINS! The winner gets dinner made by the loser. It is a FUN game. I love football, but I don’t follow it as well as the hubs. He knows more about players and defenses and coaches and injuries…but sometimes I still win. 🙂 This is a win-win game we play because we both love to cook, but it’s nice to be cooked for every once in a while! (And it’s a fun way to follow football season.) Anyway, he did have a victory dinner coming his way, and we decided on Baked Ziti. Mmm. It’s delish. So before yoga I hit the market to get all of the fixins’, then I whipped it up when I got home from class. And, bonus, it’s a one skillet dish (you put it all together on the stovetop then switch it to the oven), so it couldn’t be much easier. I pasted the recipe below. FYI, it’s from one of my fave resources, Cook’s Illustrated.

Baked Ziti

To complete this recipe in 30 minutes, preheat your oven before assembling your ingredients. If your skillet is not ovensafe, transfer the pasta mixture into a shallow 2-quart casserole dish before sprinkling with the cheese and baking. Packaged pre-shredded mozzarella is a real time-saver here. Penne can also be used here.

Ingredients

1 tablespoon olive oil
6 garlic cloves , minced
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 (28-ounce) can crushed tomatoes
3 cups water
12 ounces ziti (3 3/4 cups)
1/2 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup minced fresh basil leaves
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

Instructions

  1. Making the Minutes Count: Measure the water and the pasta before you begin cooking. Prep the Parmesan and basil while the pasta cooks.
  2. Heat Oven: Adjust oven rack to middle position and heat oven to 475 degrees.
  3. Simmer Ziti: Combine oil, garlic, pepper flakes, and 1/2 teaspoon salt in 12-inch, ovensafe nonstick skillet and sauté over medium-high heat until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add crushed tomatoes, water, ziti, and 1/2 teaspoon salt. Cover and cook, stirring often and adjusting heat as needed to maintain vigorous simmer, until ziti is almost tender, 15 to 18 minutes.
  4. Add Cheese and Bake: Stir in cream, Parmesan, and basil. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle mozzarella evenly over ziti. Transfer skillet to oven and bake until cheese has melted and browned, about 10 minutes. Serve.

After dinner, I hit the sack. But my poor hubs was burning the midnight oil working on exams. So, we decided not to do the deed yesterday, for the first time in eight days! With all of the negative OPKs, the crazy amount of sex we’ve been having sometimes feels a little bit silly. But, luckily we  enjoy it very much, so it’s not a biggie. 🙂 And this morning, my awesome, cutie-pie hubs asked if we should go ahead and sex it up for good measure. This suggestion came from a guy who was going on four hours of sleep, late to class, and pretty stressed about the day ahead of him. HE IS A GOOD, GOOD EGG!!!

And yes, in case you were wondering, the OPK had yet another faint line today. So far from that dark control line. Argh! I must say, I feel a bit like I’ve been through the ringer, and it’s only Monday! I was SO hoping that the Clomid 50mg dose would register ovulation Friday, Saturday or Sunday. Unforch, my body had other plans in mind. I’m not sure what to think about this. Part of me is like, Oh, well, this happens to some of us, the 100mg dose will do the trick. The other part of me is like, Wait just a minute! Why the heck isn’t this powerful medicine working?! Will it EVER work? I just wanna ovulate!

Anyway. I’m going to try to hit yoga again tonight, because I think I could use the Zen breathing. I don’t know about you guys, but I think about this stuff Way. Too. Much. What in the world did I think about before TTC? It consuuuumes me!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “A good weekend

  1. I posted a few weeks ago about how we bet each week against football!! I am like you and don’t really get into it, but when I have something to compete over I am all about it. We wager deciding weekly meals, cleaning the bathrooms, just random stuff that we don’t necessarily hate to do, but really would rather not!
    The ziti sounds great!

    • I saw that post! I loved it. 🙂 For college football, we cheer for Alabama because Matt’s Dad’s fam allll went to ‘Bama and live in Birmingham, but I hope we can still be friends after the Tennessee game. 🙂

      Thank you for commenting!! I am new to the bloggie life and already feeling so much better just venting stuff out.

      Are you taking OPKs right now…that surge should be coming soon, yes?!

  2. You are so welcome! I am not that far from a newbie blogger either. It does help so much. It’s like a diary with feedback.
    I go Wednesday for the wonderful vajayjay cam to see how big my follicles are. I am obsessive about things and decided to just check CM instead of OPK’s.
    You might have O’d, but the surge just wasn’t that strong to be detected. Don’t give up!
    Girl, I would have sex until the cows came home. Sex is good and not just for baby making. Go get your man! He does seem like a good egg!

Leave a Reply

