Huh?

This morning I got up early, skipped my workout and drove into the RE’s office for my CD21 Progesterone test. Because I never got a positive OPK,  after testing CD10–Cd20, I was fairly certain the test wouldn’t register ovulation. But when I called the lab hotline for my results this afternoon, the nurse’s message said I had a Progesterone level of 3.5, which means I did ovulate. Huh? Really? Everything I’ve read online and in other blogs suggests something around 10 confirms ovulation in a Clomid cycle. Ideally 15 or higher, in fact.

The nurse said I can expect my period in 7 to 10 days. Really? I am skeptical! And if I did ovulate, which I find hard to believe given that number, then could I be pregnant? Why didn’t she mention that possibility? Probably because it isn’t one!

She also said they are upping my dosage of Clomid for the next cycle. As expected.

These are the questions I hope to have answered before the weekend. Still awaiting Nurse Gail’s phone call back. I’m glad my body registered something, but I’m not feeling at all hip-hip-HOORAY! about a 3.5. In fact, I’m totally weirded out. I don’t understand why they’re calling this ovualtion. Why they’re so sure my period will come.

Any thoughts from folks who’ve had a Progesterone test experience?

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Huh?

  1. From what I understand, progesterone levels are pretty subjective. One Dr. may use a level of 10 as a threshold, some much lower.
    I think it’s good they increased your Clomid dose. Hopefully that will do the trick!
    Have a great weekend.

  2. WHAT??

    Everything I’ve read says that you should be at least 10 for a natural cycle and 15 for a medicated cycle. I did read somewhere that 5 suggests that “some form of ovulation” but who knows what that means.

    My last progesterone test was 0.79. Boo.

  3. APlusB – Thank you for the vote of confidence in the increased dose. I’m hoping it’ll be my ace in the hole!

    Stef – My reaction exactly…WHAT? So confused. But I guess it doesn’t really matter b/c they’re upping the dose. I just want my period to come. On the upside of your 0.79, that’s sans meds. The Clomid will be a huge boost for you!!

  4. Pingback: Prickly prickly « Such A Good Egg

Leave a Reply

