Getting geared up for Thanksgiving

Cooking has always been something my hubs and I love to do, but for years I’ve been more of a sous chef while he’s the man in charge. Well, lately, I’ve been bananas for finding recipes and cooking them all by myself. I’m finding it very therapeutic. (Hubs loves this because he comes home and plays his computer game to unwind while I dash around the kitchen!) I think this intensified penchant for cooking has something to do with the fact that I’m spending less time at the gym, but whatever the reason, I’m rolling with it.

On Tuesday night, I baked a pumpkin pie after work! It was a trial run for the one I’ll be baking on Thanksgiving at my in-laws. (I’m also making a pecan pie…and hubs is doing grilled brussels sprouts and sweet potato hash with sage.) Normally, I’d just whip up the recipe on the back of the Libby’s can. But this year I wanted to go all real-deal and so I used pumpkin puree, yams, maple syrup, fresh ginger, fresh-grated nutmeg and cinnamon stick, etc. I’m pasting the recipe below. Mmm. It’s tasty, friends. If you want to be an overachiever, you can make your own crust, too (no crust recipe here as I’m still sleuthing down a fabulous one). I’m actually debating whether or not to do that myself…

PUMPKIN PIE

(from the November 2008 issue of Cook’s Illustrated)

Filling
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup whole milk
3 large eggs plus 2 large yolks
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin puree
1 cup drained candied yams from 15-ounce can (see note)
3/4 cup sugar
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 teaspoons grated fresh ginger
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon salt
  1. While pie shell is baking, whisk cream, milk, eggs, yolks, and vanilla together in medium bowl. Combine pumpkin puree, yams, sugar, maple syrup, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in large heavy-bottomed saucepan; bring to sputtering simmer over medium heat, 5 to 7 minutes. Continue to simmer pumpkin mixture, stirring constantly and mashing yams against sides of pot, until thick and shiny, 10 to 15 minutes.
  2. Remove pan from heat and whisk in cream mixture until fully incorporated. Strain mixture through fine-mesh strainer set over medium bowl, using back of ladle or spatula to press solids through strainer. Rewhisk mixture and transfer to warm prebaked pie shell. Return pie plate with baking sheet to oven and bake pie for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to 300 degrees and continue baking until edges of pie are set (instant-read thermometer inserted in center registers 175 degrees), 20 to 35 minutes longer. Transfer pie to wire rack and cool to room temperature, 2 to 3 hours. Cut into wedges and serve.
5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Getting geared up for Thanksgiving

  1. Sounds delish, and I’m impressed with your baking ambitions! One of the consultants I work with made me a pumpkin pie as a holiday gift and I was SO glad to have something to bring to Thanksgiving…I’m such a lazy cook 🙂 Good for you!!

  2. DROOLING OVER THE RECIPE. Since we are bringing a dessert I might have to borrow your recipe. How does hubs make his sweet potato hash??? I’m intrigued.

  3. Al

    Sounds delicious, over achiever! I was assigned to bring a spinach and cranberry salad this year..boring. i guess since I’m coming in from 4 hours away they were trying to be nice, I’d love to make rolls or a really nice dessert. Oh well…

  4. Mmmm! That sounds amazing!!

  5. Yum-o. I freaking LOVE to cook (definitely my therapy too). That pie recipe looks awesome. I am NOT a pie baker. A pie is one of the only things I’ve made that was a total, epic FAIL. I tried to make my own crust, though, which ended up to be a huge part of the problem. So my advice? Get some help from the store on that one.

    Benjamin and I are hosting some of Benjamin’s extended family for Thanksgiving this year. I am SO EXCITED to be the hostess with the mostess. Cooking and food is my thing! THAT I can handle.

    Good luck with the real deal pie baking!

Leave a Reply

