Good mood, holiday happy and working out

Update on Provera! Two down, five to go. Zero side effects so far, unless you count feeling calm and happy a side effect?!

Last night I got home from work on the early side and set to work making a butternut squash soup from scratch with a side of brussels sprouts (I’ve been eating so many brussels lately that I wouldn’t be surprised if I turn into one!!). While the soup was simmering, I headed into the living room to wrap lights around our tree and begin hanging ornaments. I also took out our caroler figurines and put them on the mantel, set out our nutmeg-scented candles and ran the holiday mugs through the dishwasher so I can sip coffee out of them every morning for the next month. Yay!!!!!

I LOVE THE HOLIDAY SEASON! Love, love, love, love, love. 🙂

Hubs got home from school late and found me in my apron, hanging ornaments. I saw RELIEF on his face. He said he was so happy to see that I was in great spirits (no Provera moodiness here friends!). I don’t know if it’s because I’m back on the path toward having a legit cycle or if it was just a good day or if I’m just mellowing out in general, but I plan to ride this feeling as long as possible. 🙂

In other news, I have a confession to make. Despite my acupuncturist asking me to chill out on running and me saying that I was open to the change, I have not really changed that much. I ran four out of the five days I was away for Thanksgiving, about five miles each time. Last night my Mom and I were chatting and she mentioned that her dear friend M, who is an ob-gyn and has been my Mom’s private confidant and info source in this “matter” of mine, told her I was still running way too much. She suggested running 3 to 4 days a week and 1 to 2 miles max. That’s even LESS than what my acupuncturist recommended. Holy moly.

First, I was a little irked at my Mom (in a very upbeat, I’m-in-a-great-mood-kind-of–way, seriously!). I had a feeling she was fishing for her friend to say something like that (my Mom continues to maintain I work out way too much; she’s been saying that since I was 22 and did my first marathon). But then I thought about it more and more and it began to sink in that although I may feel like I’ve really toned down my exercise since I’m not in “training” for an athletic event, I’m still pounding away a lot more than most folks do. I’ve been an athlete since I was a little kid, so it’s hard to let go. Is 3-4 days a week and 1-2 miles at a time enough to give me that endorphin boost and de-stressed feeling I love so much? How much do you guys work out?

I am officially committed to chilling out on the exercise-front. I’m even going to start including my workouts in posts, to keep me honest. Day One of the new Good Egg…..no run early this morning, as planned. No workout at all. I got up at the usual time and puttered around the apartment, took a long shower and got to work earlier than usual. So far so good.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Good mood, holiday happy and working out

  1. I know how hard this is!!! It is a punch in the gut to be told or “suggested” to cut back exercise!
    My mom has been on my butt for years too about working out to much. Its hard when you love something so much.
    Egg, you have a much better purpose in life these days. We can get “athlete” ready AFTER our babies are here!!

  2. Glad your doing well and feeling happy 🙂 I have the opposite problem as you. I don’t like exercising and probably should add more into my life. Good luck!

  3. Al

    So glad you’re side effect free so far! I hope you continue to feel happy through the holidays! Clomid has been good to me so far, I hope it stays that way….

  4. Zuly

    Hi friend, I know is super hard! They told me to do spinning, Yoga and to walk a lot but no running. Since Im taking a break this month I ran today 2.5 miles it felt sooooo good! Do spinning or something else that you like, get your ipod going and you will be fine =)

  5. Hang in there, girl. I KNOW it feels like “well what am I going to do to be happy now that I can’t run”? But really, if it’s what your body needs/wants, it’s what your body should have! As I said in my post about exercising (we really are twins separated at birth…), although it wasn’t the hard core workouts that stopped my period, I think the shift away from them was incredibly helpful at letting my body just CHILL and focus on what it needed to.

    Enjoy it, especially around the holidays when you can use that time to decorate and bake cookies and light nutmeg candles 🙂

  6. I totally understand how hard it is to cut back on exercise. I used to run A LOT more, but knew I’d need to chill out once we got really serious about TTC. I ran a 1/2 marathon this summer and treated it as my last hurrah (at least for a while). To be honest, now that I run 1-3 miles per run, I enjoy it a lot more as I work on speed and get an even bigger high from pounding out 2 miles vs. 10. One thing I do to really jump the endorphins is every 9 minutes, I jack up the incline to 12 and run at 8.5 mph on the treadmill for one minute. Two of those and my heart is pounding, my head is clear, and the feel-good juices are flowing! Seems like you run more outside, but maybe try to find some hills or stairs to kick up the intensity for very short periods?

Leave a Reply

