(pre) Nesting

I’ve heard friends talk about it and I’ve seen it on TV. Nesting. That internal urge of moms-to-be to create the safest, prettiest, most perfect home for their unborn baby.

Is it possible to start nesting BEFORE you’re even pregnant? That’s how I’ve felt this weekend! Hubs and I picked out a headboard while we were in Philly for Thanksgiving (gotta love the Black Friday sales). It’s something we’ve been talking about getting for more than SIX YEARS. But more pressing purchases and errands always, always, always come up and we’ve managed to avoid this essential, adult purchase for a very long time.

A few months ago, while I was hunting for headboards online (my fave way to procrastinate), I had this flash of an idea. Maybe we should wait until we’re pregnant to make this major purchase. You know, kind of like a reward for finally reaching that point. Or a tangible proof that we really are adults now, starting our very own family.

But that seems a little silly, right? It seemed unfair to begrudge myself this one piece of furniture I’ve been pining over for more than half a decade while simultaneously pining over becoming pregnant. Plus, while we were in Philly, we found a great headboard, and hubs was totally on-board with making the purchase on the spot. (This is a miracle in and of itself!) Yesterday, we picked it up at the store in our hometown. Then we drove that sucker home and I spent three hours among bolts and screws and washers and wrenches assembling it. (Hubs was watching the ‘bama v. Florida game in the living room, something he’s been looking forward to all week.)

So, so exciting for me, my friends!! The headboard looks AWESOME! It is everything I hoped and dreamed it would be. (I know, I sound like a nut!) It makes me feel more put together and, yes, more adult. Less dorm-room, more sophisticated. I told hubs last night that maybe I’d had it backwards all along. Maybe we weren’t supposed to be waiting for a baby to trigger us into action. Maybe the baby-to-be has been waiting for us to get this headboard so we’d have a healthier, happier, more awesome bed for baby-making. 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “(pre) Nesting

  1. Congrats on the purchase – hope it is the start of lots of productive baby-making:)
    Thanks so much for the rec of Wilfi and Nell – it just so happens we’re having dinner in the West Village with B’s mom and I was looking for somewhere to meet friends afterwards. I’ll let you know what we think!

  2. Yea for your purchase. I hope it helps you to have happy baby making 🙂

  3. Zuly

    Congrats!! Im sure it looks awesome!

  4. Heck yeah! Making the “perfect baby making area” sounds good to me! I’m so glad you got one thing that you have been pining for!

  5. PICTURES, PLEASE! It sounds awesome. I think you deserve to nest pre- and post-baby. You gotta make that love nest!

    Enjoy the new duds.

  6. Al

    We’ve been procrastinating picking a headboard too, I don’t know why. I’d love to see a pic of what you guys chose, I’m sure it looks great !

  7. I second the desire for photos! Sounds like a great purchase. My “nesting” comes in spurts and starts…and I am not pregnant. I don’t think it’s unusual at all!

    Good luck with all the baby-making!

Leave a Reply

