The waiting game

Sooooo. While all of the other IF bloggies I read seem to be moving at warp speed (Clomid! Ultrasound! Ovidrel! Positive OPK! Progesterone spikes! 2ww!), my own journey is stuck in a bit of a rut. 🙂 I’m waiting for my period folks. Waiting, waiting, waiting.

The past couple of times I’ve taken Provera, my period showed up 36 and 48 hours after popping the last pill. So I’m already a bit behind schedule. (But me impatient? Never! Haha.) I finished up the Provera in the wee dawn hours of Monday morning. I had an acupuncture session yesterday. I was hoping I’d wake up to spotting this morning. No such luck!

Anway, I wish I had some awesome news to report. I was really hoping to be able to get into the RE for baseline tests (dum dum dum, is the cyst gone?) before the weekend. This cycle’s timeline is sensitive because I’d really like to do an IUI before leaving town on the 24th. I know that’s a silly thing to focus on and it’s not a huge deal if it doesn’t work out that way (heck, a month ago I was nervous about even DOING an IUI!). But still, after a month of sitting around doing nothing on the baby-making front, I am so raring to get this cycle up and running.

I know there’s still time, I’m just starting to get nervous. I’ve already done all the tricks (wear white undies, threaten taking an HPT), but my period is nowhere to be found. And so, I wait.

Workout update: I’ve been a little under the weather since the weekend so I was totally cool with taking Monday and Tuesday off working out. Today I rode my road bike in front of the Today Show for 45 minutes. Nothing crazy, just a mellow sweat session as it sleeted/snowed/looked like the North Pole out the window.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “The waiting game

  1. I normally get my period after about five days of taking the last pill. I hope she shows up soon so you can get the show on the road.

  2. Al

    I hope AF shows up soon so you can get this IUI cycle goin’!

  3. Zuly

    My friend, I called my doctor today too because I still don’t have my period and they told me that I needed to wait between 3 to 5 days and after that or between that I should get my period. HANG IN THERE!! You will get it soon =)

  4. Oh, I’m sorry. That must be frustrating. As a most inpatient patient myself, I can totally understand your feelings of wanted to get those early cycle tests done so you can move along with the IUI. Hope it comes soon (for the last time)!

  5. There is still hope my sweet friend!!! I am sending you mu-ju vibes for AF to show!!!!! Abra-cadabra!

  6. It will come. Yet another lesson in how WE HAVE NO CONTROL OVER OUR BODIES. Which is totally, totally frustrating. I know that feeling.

    P.S. I am jealous of your 45 minute spin. I’ve been forcing myself to backoff of [all] exercise, at least until my first ultrasound, because I’m scared to death that I’ll do something to hurt/stress the little guy(s)/gal(s) in there. Most days I feel so exhausted I would MUCH rather nap that exercise anyway, but I do miss that feeling of sweating (other than in the middle of the night, which I seem to do a lot now).

Leave a Reply

