Valued Blogger award!

Thank you so much to the awesome A at A Plus B, Waiting for C. She passed along this super-special Valued Blogger award. I am new-ish to the blogging world and feel so, so, so grateful to be surrounded, supported and READ all of you. A is one of the first blogs I began following and I was drawn in by her artistic, compelling posts. Beyond that, I love the stuff she talks about—Nadal, running, museum-going, and everything in between!—she’s such an active, smart girl. It was awesome to discover we live near each other. We have never met. But the more we email/comment/post, the more convinced I am that we’re going to be real life friends someday. Hopefully while pushing baby-strollers! 🙂 This means a lot to me, thanks A!
The rules follow and then I’ll get down to biz….
This award is not like all of the other blog awards because we all want to not only know about you, but your opinion of your fellow bloggers. The rules are:

1. Tell your readers how your journey into blogging began. Be as verbose or shy as you like.
2. Pick 3-5 fellow bloggers whom you adore and write what exactly it is you value about that person or their blog. The more you write about them the better. This is a chance to really appreciate your blog friends who have been there with and for you through thick and thin.
3. Let the blessed winners know they have been awarded.

1. How my journey began. As soon as hubs and I went off BC, I started poking around Google for info on when I could expect to ovulate and all of that fun stuff. Even in that blissfully naive state, I knew the message boards I was ending up on were disturbingly riddled with myths and inaccurate info. As my journey became less about getting pregnant-this-very-instant, and more about, hmmmm-what’s-wrong-with-me, I found myself sleuthing out better sources of info on Google.

I think Kate at This Place Is Now a Home was the first blog I discovered (probably from Googling the heck out of Provera, which she’d been on over the summer). I found a down-to-earth, smart, upbeat woman who’s blog brimmed with solid, insightful info. From there I started to click around on commenters’ blogs. After weeks of quietly reading, I found the nerve to start commenting myself. And I found myself feeling more at peace—and so much better informed—about my journey. Eventually, I decided to start a blog because 1) my comments were getting crazy-long; I had too much to say! 🙂 And 2) I felt like it was good for me to have a place to vent, without having to talk it out with my hubs every time something was on my mind. I needed to save him from me. And so, Such A Good Egg was born. As it were. 🙂

2. Pick three bloggers. I may be a newbie to bloggie land, but I’ve found some really amazing places to visit regularly these past six months…

First, Courtney at The Road Worth Traveling. Courtney’s free-form posts are always crazy-town fun to read. I love her wonderfully warm and witty writing style. She also has her own awesome language—a little bit of the South mixed in with straight-up charm and smarts. For example, when it’s sexy-time (er, fertile window) with her hubs, she’ll say things like, “Cue the Beo-chicka-wow-wow music.” She makes me smile, laugh and nod all at once (good things!). When she got her BFP before Thanksgiving, I felt like I was celebrating a tiny piece of her joy and excitement with her. I think we were BFFs/sisters in another life. 🙂

Second, Stef at Baby Blakely. Before I even got into her baby-making details, I was sucked into the jaw-droppingly cool craft projects she posts about here and there. (Most recently, an amazingly cute and preppy Christmas Tree skirt she sewed!) Between her love for beautiful, well-made things and her thoughtful, caring approach to preparing for her baby-to-be (even scoring a sweet deal on a stroller!), I really look forward to her posts. She brings that same thought and care to the way she talks about relationships, work and doctor’s office appointments. I also really appreciate her positive and caring comments.

Third, is LowFatLady at Tales of My Follies. I recently began following LFL’s blog after she left a really thoughtful and helpful comment on one of my posts. I love her candor. I appreciate how, even when things are royally sucking (the follies that took forever to mature this cycle!), she keeps her chin up and manages to tell it like it is without melting down (something I struggle with).

It was hard to choose. I’m still learning the lay of bloggie land and I appreciate all of the love, support, information, education and high-fiving we give each other. I can’t tell you how much peace it has brought me.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Valued Blogger award!

  1. I am so glad I could play some part in helping you through that really shitty part of the infertility journey where you feel like you’re the only one in the world going through it. Yuck. I’m glad we’re both past that now.

    🙂

  2. You never cease to amaze me friend!! Tear jerker for me!! Love you!

  3. Aw, thanks for the award 🙂 I’m glad that I was able to help. I will fill out the descriptive part of this soon.

  4. This totally just made a really crappy day a little bit better… thank you so much for your kind words. I’m so blessed to have you as a friend to share this journey!!

  5. Aw, thanks 🙂 You picked great recipients! Love them all!

Leave a Reply

