Post-holiday update

I hope everyone had a very Merry Christmas! I definitely did. For four days straight I did not think about preggers stuff AT ALL. Well, with the exception of hubs giving me the trigger shot at about 10pm on Christmas Eve night. He was such a champ! (If it worked, I should’ve ovulated sometime on Friday or Saturday…we’ve thoroughly enjoyed covered our bases and only had one, ahem, “day off” since CD9! ) We had a ton of snow in Kansas City and took full advantage of it by sledding after opening presents on Christmas Day. Ahhh, so fun. We also ate like KINGS for four days straight. Yum. 🙂 It was a really wonderful trip.

My work offices are closed this week and I am so excited to have a full week at home. Normally, we travel to both my in-laws’ and my parents’ homes at Christmas-time. This year, in an effort to save some moolah and cut down on the stress of traveling, we only went to my parents (we alternate Thanksgiving and Christmas each year). It definitely has reduced the blah-ness that is going back and forth from airports.

So what will I be doing with my week off? I plan to organize my closets and dresser drawers. I have three freelance projects to start. I need to clean out my files and book shelf. I want to hit yoga a few times. I’d love to go see some museum exhibits I’ve been meaning to get to. That ought to keep me pretty busy! Oh, and we are hosting our dear friends S and J who live in Texas on Monday and Wednesday nights. They are coming with their 17-month-old daughter, A. I am holding my breath just a bit, because I’m anxious S will announce that she’s preggo. I’m trying to mentally prepare for it.

Speaking of a mental test, I guess I am officially in my first-ever two week wait. That assumes the trigger shot worked, and I don’t know if it did, but it’s definitely the best shot I’ve had at ovulating since we started TTC. I forgot to temp this morning but yesterday it was only up SLIGHTLY. I’ll keep at it and see if I notice any shift. I really hope the 100mg Clomid plus Ovidrel worked and I finally ovulated.

A few of you guys have asked about starting Progesterone suppositories to thicken up my lining in the comments. The answer is no, I’m not on them. Dr. C doesn’t think a thin lining will make or break implantation and he opted not to prescribe anything. My Googling suggests otherwise, but there’s nothing I can do about it. So I’m hoping he’s right, and I have some sort of chance this cycle. But inside , to be totally honest, I’ve already written this one off. It just seems like a long-shot that my lining thickened up enough to support implantation from 3.2mm. My guess is that he will put me on Estrogen at the beginning of my next cycle. Which I’m hoping we can move right into, instead of having to sit a month out with another cyst. But this stuff is all out of my control, so I’m doing my best to put it out of my head!

Not a super exciting post, sorry bloggies, but I think I have a little case of post-holiday blues. I already miss my Mom!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Post-holiday update

  1. 3.2 is pretty thin. At my RE’s they want at least 6 I think. I’m hoping your doctor is right and things still work out. From what I have heard you WILL ovulate on ovidrel. It makes you 🙂 Good luck.

    • Yep, it’s really thin. Which is why I’m not holding my breath for this cycle! But I was really pushy about asking the nurse if he wanted to rethink not putting me on prog suppositories and Dr. C was not into it. He’s the chief of the dept so I’m trying to trust him more than I do my prowess on Google. 🙂 On the upside, it did thicken between my CD10 and CD12 monitoring appointments, so when I feel like being positive I focus on that fact: Maybe it kept working hard after CD12?

  2. So glad that you had a nice holiday– Fingers crossed that the trigger shot did its job and that all of your “hard work” will pay off! 🙂

  3. YAY! Here’s hoping the trigger shot worked. And, even if it didn’t, just remember that you learned A LOT this cycle and you’re that many steps closer to winning this crappy game.

  4. Sounds like you had a great holiday!!! I hope things work out for you – I’m 6dpo, waiting and waiting – it’s driving me crazy!!

    Hope the new year brings you happiness!!! 🙂

    ICLW

  5. I think you did absolutely the right thing about taking 4 days off. It sounds like pure joy. A happy woman makes positive vibes.

    Sledding brought me my son, in a way. NJ got about 2 feet of snow and it was an opportunity not to be missed. When I got to the bottom of the hill and tried to get up from the sled, the world spun and I nearly passed out. First thought was “Oh, my GD!” because I have only ever fainted when pregnant. I kept my mouth shut until I had been over to my RE for a blood test. By late that afternoon I knew. Four months after being told that our IVF cycle had failed, I was pregnant by natural means. My son is 6 yrs, 2 months now; a gorgeous ball of fire.

    Re: Googling and comparing your readings to other bloggers: I can understand you bringing info you have dug up or been told into conversations with your RE. More familiarity with terms and numbers makes us feel more in control of a process over which we have little control. The only caveat to that is that that we all become “experts” on our own medical situation. But, our expertise isn’t based upon years of medical study and experience. It’s really important to have faith in your RE and to trust their decisions. IMO, if you don’t have that, it’s best to switch to someone you do trust. I wouldn’t necessarily write this one off, but if it isn’t successful, perhaps you and your RE should have a brief talk about the information you have acquired and whether those numbers (lining thickness or any other) are universal for everyone. Put your mind at ease.

    I am hoping this one is the One for you. Happy New Year.

    Lisa (Your Great Life – ICLW #51)

  6. Have hope! It will happen soon.

  7. I’m so glad you had a stressfree Xmas this year! You needed it!!!!
    Yay 2ww!!!

  8. Glad you had a nice X-mas with the fam. Isn’t it nice to have snow for Christmas? I really hope that despite the not so great lining, your little eggie will find a place to snuggle in for 9 months!

Leave a Reply

