Oh well (CD4 update)

I have a 20mm follie spewing out 210 Estrogen levels on my left ovary. So I’m sitting out a month. Wah wah wah.

I actually got to talk to the attending doctor a few minutes ago (he called with results instead of leaving them as a message on the lab line). He said there’s a chance that there’s an egg in that follie/cyst, so hubs and I should cover our bases in case I release it. Ha! I must admit I find it hard to believe that I will suddenly and magically ovulate on my own. (Anyone heard of ovulating this early in a cycle? Anyone who couldn’t ovulate before Clomid suddenly have luck on an off cycle???) Plus, my lining is a very thin 1.3mm, so there’s not much of a chance of anything implanting (the doc agreed). (Side note: I’m going to temp to see what happens….if I can actually ovulate on my own then there is NO POINT to all of this RE drama. I’m so confused!) Hubs and I will have fun covering bases, just in case.

I asked the doc if he thought Clomid was the best course of action for me at this point, given my lining and cyst reaction. Perhaps I should try Femara? It sounds like they don’t do Femara in this RE group. They move on to injectibles. He said if I were his patient, that would be on the table. I don’t know if that’s an option financially, but I will ask for an appointment or phone call with Dr. C to see what he thinks. I’m guessing he wants to give Clomid it’s third go ’round, and that’s fine…I just figure a Clomid cycle takes 60-ish days for me with the month-on/month-off, so I’d of course prefer the most efficient and effective treatment

I’m disappointed, but I can’t say I didn’t see it coming.

14 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

14 responses to “Oh well (CD4 update)

  1. JC

    Shoot! I’m sorry you have to sit out. I hope the wait goes by fast!

  2. Although I haven’t had problems ovulating on my own, I can tell you that on my 1 clomid and 1 femara cycle I got 2 mature follicles each time, and then when I switched to injectables last cycle I ended up with 15 follicles over 10mm (although I was triggered before all of them were mature). So, from my own personal experience, injectables definitely took it up a notch, and if it’s an option financially, this might be a good next step for you if your doctor agrees. Good luck!

  3. Ugh, I’m sorry. I would try asking about Femara if you really want to try it. Ask someone else if they say no. I asked a cycle or two back and the nurse said they don’t put people on it. However, when I had my consult with my actual RE he put me on it. I think it depends on if you talk to the person who makes the decisions. Good luck and I’ll let you know how my Femara cycle goes.

  4. Oh no, I can’t imagine how disappointed you must be… I know how much better you feel when you are actively cycling.

    It really sounds like Clomid is not a good fit for you…two cycles taking it, two cycles with cysts and thin lining.

    I hope your doctor will seriously consider another option (injectible or otherwise) next cycle.

    Boo. What a disappointing day. Sending hugs your way.
    Sen

  5. I say BOO to having to sideline it this cycle! I’m sorry to hear the news. I am having to do the same, but for different reasons. It feels like treading stagnant water. 😦 I honestly don’t know much about Femara, but I do believe it’s important to be a good advocate for yourself. If they tell you they don’t do Femara, ask them to tell you specifically why. Is there an actual medical reason behind it? Or does it have something to do with them just being comfortable in a certain protocol or some relationship they have with the pharmaceutical company? Hang in there!

  6. Secret Sloper

    Boo to sidelines, but yay to why-not? sex.

    I hope this cycle is it for you, or that you and your doctor can come to a good arrangement for future treatments.

  7. Crapola!!!!! I hate this! If I ever get a hold of that cyst of yours!! Well, anyway haha, I know this is not what you wanted friend, but you and Mr. Egg will be able to get in plenty of practice and hey THERE IS A CHANCE that the follie will release! Crazier things have happened.

  8. Tarah

    Well stranger things have happened in life – it’s nice to know that there is a possibility – no matter how slim, that things could work in your favor this month! 🙂

  9. Aw man…that is such a bummer. I’m sorry!! And hey, at least you’re not totally out of it. Maybe that annoying little cyst could be your ticket, I’ll be crossing my fingers it is!!

  10. LTB

    Sitting out sucks…I did one round of injectibles and I’m sitting out for the 3rd month due to cysts and overstimulation of my ovaries and annoying BCP screw ups! I went straight to injectibles b/c of the thin lining issue…so maybe injectibles will be better in that regards for you. But in terms of cysts…injectibles are still causing me trouble! Have fun and good luck covering your bases!!!

  11. Blast! I’m so sorry! How sucky. For lack of a better term. You will make it through… and when you actually DO ovulate and make a baby, all of this frustration will melt away.

    Until then? Hang in there. It totally, totally sucks.

  12. LTB

    Hello my “sitting-out-another-month” buddy! Who is conspiring against us!!?? It’s just so weird how you can find that you have so much in common with random people on the internet! I love that you love Italy! It is my “happy” place! I really hope this is the last month we have to sit on the side lines and we both get preggers with our first little ones soon so that we have a hope of getting our families of 6! Big families rock!
    🙂 LTB

  13. Hello!

    My name is Elisabeth, and I am an infertility / repeated pregnancy loss “veteran”. You can read a little bit about me and my experiences in my blog: drhousewife.blogspot.com . I am completing a PhD in Counseling Psychology, and my dissertation is focused upon the impact of infertility on marriage. I believe strongly that there is a need for better support services for men and women who are undergoing IF diagnosis and treatment, and my hope is that this study will aid in the development of such services.

    I am contacting you after stumbling across your blog. I am recruiting participants for my study, and wanted to invite you and your husband to take part. All that would be involved would be the completion of an online survey, that would take approximately 20 minutes. All couples who complete the surveys will receive a voucher good for a pair of free movie tickets at a Regal Cinemas.

    Please let me know if you are interested by emailing me at UTInfertilityResearch@gmail.com .

    Best,
    Elisabeth

  14. Amy

    Sorry for the disappointment. Hope things turn around.

Leave a Reply

