I have the bits and pieces

RELIEF.

Honestly, even after I read a half dozen horror stories describing incredibly painful HSG experiences, what had me most nervous was the possibility of blocked tubes. I run marathons and have pushed myself through some intense physical pain, so I figured I had developed a high enough threshold to survive the HSG. (Not that I wanted it to be painful or discounted ANY of your absolutely horrible experiences, just….you know, trying to be tough and remind myself I can survive anything for a few minutes.) All I could think was, Just let everything look okay.

AND IT DID! 🙂

The elusive Dr. C did the procedure! The man I write about every third post! I haven’t seen him since our initial consult in October. I have been a little down on him lately, maybe subconsciously blaming him for my body’s reaction to Clomid? And if you have been reading my blog for a while, you know I have taken the liberty of emailing him twice. (oops.) When I walked in the room he was like, “Oh, my email buddy!” Me: “Errr, sorry!” Dr. C: “No, no, I love emailing with my patients.” Me in my head: Was that sarcasm?! Eeek.

I LIKE HIM AGAIN! He is funny, smart, confident and put me at ease. (I need confidence…I need someone saying this shizit is going to WORK!) He said he’d talk through the entire procedure and I should let him know if I was in too much pain and he would stop.

First he inserted a speculum and cleaned me up down there. (That part was like a pap, no biggie.) Then it was time for the dye. I didn’t even feel the dye going into me, I had to ask if it was happening. I felt a very mild burning sensation in my tummy area, but I honestly only noticed it because I was hyper-focused on how I was feeling. [Side note: I don’t ever feel ovulation, my OPKs never work, my breasts never hurt before my period, and since I’ve been off BC I have barely-there menstrual cramps….what is up with my bod? Is it numb?]

I heard him call out to the dude in the other room taking pics that my left tube had spilled…maybe 15 or 30 seconds later, so did my right one. YAY! Then we went through the images together and he said everything looked good.

He made a comment about how my uterus is deep and forward (something to Google later) and how that’s fine and normal. He also mentioned my cervix looks beautiful. Whatever that means?! OKAY! I’ll take it!

So, once again showing myself to be a totally inappropriate patient, I took the opportunity to talk with him about our treatment plan as soon as I was off the table (yes, wearing nothing but a hospital kimono-style robe and Converse high tops.

He asked, “Where are we now?”

Me: “We’re on an off month because the 100mg Clomid gave me a cyst.”

Him: “Right, well, you can call me a few days before your period and we can discuss what to do next.”

Me: “I actually booked a consult with you for next week to discuss just that. I was wondering what you think is best for me given how I respond to Clomid with thin lining?”

He flips through my chart and says, “Yes, you have thin lining. I took you down to 50mg to minimize that, we can get you to ovulate at that dose. That’s also why I’ve put you on estrogen.”

Me: “Okay, but if that doesn’t work, then what? Do you do Femara? Injectibles?”

Him: “I have used Femara on patients but I personally feel it doesn’t work as well as Clomid. You taking Estrogen with Clomid is almost the same as taking Femara. If Clomid doesn’t work this time, I would take it up a notch and go to injectibles. If you’re not ready for that because of finances or for any other reason, we can try Femara—but think of it as a very baby step up.” [Bloggies, clearly I’m paraphrasing, this is the gist.]

Me: “Okay, but you think we should give Clomid one more try and then re-evaluate?”

Him: “Yes.”

Me: “Well, we may not need that in-office consult next week afterall, you’ve answered my major questions.”

Him: “You can email me questions anytime.”

Me: “Thank you!!!!!!!!”

Him: “Are you okay? You seem a little shaky.”

Me: “I’m fine!” [I might’ve been shaking with relief? Or maybe I just was unexpectedly okay with the whole procedure? Or maybe it wigged him out that I jumped off the table and chatted him up? Haha. I dunno. I felt fine. And I was psyched I got some Qs answered.]

Hubs, the good egg that he is, was nervously waiting for me in the radiology lobby. He seems a little worried that I will abuse my new email privileges, but I promise I won’t. Hubs also said that as long as Dr. C and I were chatting, I should’ve asked him to subscribe to my new Twitter feed and to check out my blog. Hahaha. 🙂

To recap: HSG results looked fine (only side effects = super mild cramping as I sit here typing), I like Dr. C very much and I will start Provera Mon, Tues or Weds of next week and hopefully start this 50mg Clomid + Estrogen + Ovidrel + IUI cycle in early February. I haven’t ruled out next week’s in-office consult. Clearly I have a lot more questions and maybe it makes sense to see what kind of injectible plan he’d put me on, etc….and I like the idea of hubs getting to meet him and ask questions, too. But at the same time, didn’t we just discuss all the major stuff on my mind? What would you do?

Another question, while I’ve got you here. (Haha.) Has anyone heard of tube-clearing benefits of the HSG procedure? Does it really make it easier for the spermies to get around? I know my problems are a) not ovulating and b) thin lining, but I’ll take a boost anywhere I can get one. 🙂

Finally, and I’m sorry this is buried at the very bottom of such a long post, but I figured I’d jump right into my drama today: If you are an ICLWer, WELCOME! Perhaps it’s fitting that I launch ICLW week with a requisite HSG recap. 🙂

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “I have the bits and pieces

  1. Al

    YAY for wide open tubes!! I’m glad the procedure wasn’t painful for me, it sounds like about how it was for me, some cramping but nothing major.

    And awesome that your RE actually did the procedure and you got to chat with him about what comes next. My ob/gyn actually told me that a lot of woman have increased fertility the month of their HSG, but didn’t work for me :-).

  2. Jin

    I have heard that it does clear out the debris and that some women get pregnant in the cycle right after (and I think maybe the 2nd cycle) as well. Glad it wasn’t painful!

  3. I am so glad your tubes were slick as whistles! I have been thinking about you all day! I think that the doc seems to know what he is talking about. I honestly don’t know what I would do about the consult. Is it an extra fee for the consult??

  4. JC

    YAY, I’m so glad your tubes and clear and things looked good! Also super cool to chat w/ your RE about the next steps, sounds like you guys have a plan. I’d keep your appt if you have any more questions but if not I’d just cancel.

    I’ve heard some women get preg after having a HSG (increased fertility for 3 months is what I heard but I didn’t get preg). Boo =(!!!

  5. I’m so glad that everything went well and it wasn’t that painful. I wonder if it didn’t bother you because like you said you don’t get cramps and can’t tell when things are happening. I’m super sensitive and emotional so I will make everything worse lol. I haven’t heard of the estrogen thing, but I hope it helps. Femara is a baby step up, but that’s what we chose because it can be helpful for people who don’t respond to clomid well and I’m not totally ready to move to injectables yet.

  6. Way to corner your RE, haha. Te points on tha one.
    And I’ve heard of the tube clearing, but I think it’s more of an incedental occurance than a ‘for sure’ effect…

    ICLW

  7. Woo hoo! So glad it went well AND you got your consult! Awesome. He sounds like a great RE. I think it’s good to postpone the consult if you’re comfortable with the way you left things today. If this next cycle doesn’t work (which I really really really hope isn’t the case) then the consult might be in order to figure out finances, injectibles, etc.
    Did you get the pedi???

  8. YAY!!! So happy it went so well for you, and more importantly you’re all clear!! Wasn’t it so fast, before I knew it the picture was up on the screen and they’re like you’re all good. I almost didn’t believe them…like maybe you should look those over a little longer?? hah. And my nurse told me it supposedly does increase fertility for a couple months after, something about making the tubes nice and slick for the eggie!!

    And I haven’t seen my RE since my consult in October either…and if this 3rd IUI is a bust, he better bring me in for a little pep talk here. So I think that’s awesome you worked in a mini-consult today. I would def. keep the appt on standby (and cancel if you’re good to go), but I always seem to think of good questions after the fact!

  9. Rach

    Tube clearing can’t hurt thats for sure. Keeping everything crossed for you.

    ICLW
    Rach
    http://www.thegalwho.wordpress.com

  10. Glad the HSG went well and that your RE answered your questions! It can be hard to pin them down long enough to get them to do so 😉 I am a notorious doctor-emailer…but unfortunately, my new RE, while practically perfect in every way, doesn’t give out his email address.

    Btw I am a real professional writer too–what kind of writing do you do? I write children’s and YA books for a number of different publishers–good times 🙂

  11. Hey – I just love that you were so forward and unflinching with your RE. Yeah! I need to take some leassons from you.

    So glad to hear that the lady bits are in tip-top shape. Go tubes! And also glad that it was a mostly painless procedure.

    It’s so funny that your RE is all about adding the estrogen to a clomid cycle, and mine is all about the injectables (and was very lukewarm about adding in estrogen). Yet they all seem so sure of themselves, like their way is the only way. Hmmm…

  12. When I had my HSG it didn’t seem too painful. I had heard it would but it didn’t bother me. I had heard the rumors that it could help afterwards for the sperm to swim. Theory didn’t work for me but maybe it will work for you. Fingers crossed.
    ICLW

  13. OMG, I love this posting. I’ll say it for you…This shizit IS going to work!

  14. Tarah

    So glad it’s over and went well! Great news about the tubes! I don’t know if it will help but it can’t hurt right? Let’s hope this next cycle is filled with wonderful news! Your Doc sounds really hopeful and positive!

    FingersxCrossed
    http://lovelyladybump.blogspot.com/

  15. So glad to have found your blog via iclw!

    My RE did tell me about the benefits of “lubing up the tubes,” so to speak, with an HSG. He said that the 3 months after the HSG did provide heightened fertility, but it didn’t work for me.

    We did Clomid, followed by Femara, and I have to say that I agree with your doc. My new RE doesn’t even use Clomid anymore (particularly if 50 mg gave you a cyst…seems to me like it might be futile) and if I had it to do over again, I’d skip the Femara, too, and go straight to injectables. That’s just me. Femara was good in terms of side effects, but you just don’t hear of widespread success with it.

    That being said, I am so glad that you love your doc. I wish you the best of luck and am headed over to subscribe to your blog right now…looking forward to keeping up.

    Christina
    The Subfertile Frugalista
    iclw

  16. Hooray for great tubes! That’s awesome news. I’m glad the procedure went well and your RE was able to answer a lot of your questions there. I’ve also heard that the HSG helps to kind of “clear things out” and make it easier for the sperm and the egg to meet up. But I don’t know how true those rumors are.

    I hope this next cycle of Clomid + IUI = a little bean! 🙂

  17. EC

    That’s great news! It’s great that you got the HSG out of the way, and that your tubes are clear! I have heard, too, that fertility is increased for three months after the HSG, so maybe you’ll get lucky!

    ~ICLW

  18. Aww, you got to keep your SHOES on? That’s so cool. I love the image of someone on the table with chuck taylors! Congratulations on the shiny pristine innards. My RE also said that there’s an uptick in conception post HSG. I hope to be IUIing along with you in February.

  19. LTB

    Yippee! Pain Free HSG!!! and perfect tubes! lovely! So funny about your beautiful cervix cause I got told by my RE today that my endometrium was beautiful! It’s so great to actually get to talk to the RE face-to-face eh! They are so encouraging, makes me happy!
    LTB

  20. Zuly

    That’s great news!! I can’t wait for your next cycle you are going to do great!!!

  21. Leslie

    Yeah for a smooth HSG. That is great that everything looks good! I am glad you were able to talk with your dr afterwards too. I know I always feel better when I have a plan to look forward too. I have heard that the HSG can clear out any build up in your tubes and increase your fertility for a few months afterwards!

    Thank you for reminding me to take deep breaths in my blog! I need to be reminded of that every now and then!

    Best wishes to you!

  22. First, congrats on having clear tubes! Good news and I am sure a relief. My RE said that there is a higher chance of conceiving after an HSG as well. Good luck with your next steps!!

    ICLW

  23. My doctor doesn’t like femara either….we only use clomid! (which is fine because clomid is the only thing that has worked so far). I’m glad your HSG went well…Mine…not so much…My tubes spasmed…WORST PAIN of my life….but soo glad I will never have to do it again and have no blockages! ICLW

  24. I love the blog! I have a love/hate relationship with my RE, I completely understand. I’ve heard lots of people say that HSG make you more fertile….

    So lots of baby dust your way!

  25. Awesome news about the HSG. Apologies for being a few days late to check up on you 🙂 Sounds like everything went perfectly AND you got to sneak in a few questions for the doc. Your plan sounds great! And how nice to have an email buddy who knows the answers.

    Also, I did a bunch of research on the HSG and the post-HSG fertileness… I think it has a positive impact for a lot of women. For me, I still didn’t ovulate on my own the next month (ok, or the month after that, or the month after that), but I have read enough anecdotal evidence from women who got preggo the next month to believe that there could be some truth to that rumor! GOOD LUCK.

  26. Happy ICLW!

    I too have heard that the HSG has a positive impact on increased fertility since the tubes have been nice and flushed. Didn’t help me out but I’m suspicious that something was inhibiting implantation which wouldn’t have much to do with the HSG. Sorry about the cyst, and hopefully it doesn’t happen again.

Leave a Reply

