Adieu, January!

January is always a rough month. Darkness sets in early each evening. Spring feels (and is) a long, long way away. Add to all of this my “off month” status, and well…suffice to say it has not been my favorite month. BUT, the last three days have been awesome. Here’s some good stuff…

On Thursday evening I had the great pleasure of meeting Kate and Benjamin from This Place is Now A Home. Kate happened to post about being in Chicago on a work trip. Through a comment I left, she discovered her hotel was really close to my office. (The power of commenting, people!) I had an AWESOME time meeting them. They are both absolutely adorable (Kate is petite and beautiful) and super smart, kind, funny, happy and down-to-earth. I honestly felt like I was meeting old, old friends. She’s pretty much the reason I began this blog, so meeting her in real life (and glowing in her second trimester!) was meaningful to me in many, many ways. 🙂 It was really wonderful. We talked about everything under the sun and I think we could’ve chatted away for another few hours! Next time I’m in Boston, I’ll be saying hello. 🙂 And I really hope any readers coming through Chicagoland give me a shout.

On Friday hubs and I met some friends at the newly opened French Market. As we discussed the upcoming Oscar nominations…what we liked, what we didn’t (my fave movies of the year = Up In The Air and Fantastic Mr. Fox!), the four of us stuffed ourselves with Belgian fries, cheese sandwiches and crepes.

We rolled ourselves out of the market and over to the Modern Wing at the Art Institute of Chicago. It is, in a word, breathtaking. We are so lucky to live in this city and to have all of these amazing museums at our doorstep. Hubs and I agreed that we have GOT to get out and take advantage of our city on a regular basis. It’s been too many weeks since we hit a museum.

After the museum, we were feeling a bit thirsty, so we stopped into a nearby pub for a beer. (Goose Island Matilda for me and Dogfish Head Sixty Minute IPA for hubs.) Because I’m not pregnant or 2ww-ing, so might as well, right? 🙂 We had fun. Good date.

Then we headed home to order take-out for din and settled onto the couch to watch a couple of eps from the fifth season of our very, very favorite TV show, LOST. (That’s saying something, because we DVR and watch a lot of TV shows.) We are sooooooo excited for the final season, which begins this week. (Yip!)

I’m happy we ended January on such a positive note! But now I’m ready for February…to cycle again, to try again, to be a step closer to spring….all of that GOOD STUFF!

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Adieu, January!

  1. Wow, what an awesome weekend! It sounds like you had a great time and that’s even better that you got to meet a fellow blogger. 🙂

    Oh, and I’m also ready for February. Bring it on!!!

  2. Sounds like such a wonderful weekend!

    Happy February. 🙂

  3. JC

    YAY sounds like a fabulous weekend!!! I’m SO ready for Feb too. Today was the worst day ever and I’m glad I can say tomorrow is a new month and a fresh start hopefully. =)

  4. February’s the last of the really cold and really dark months. And it’s so short. Hopefully spring will come soon!

  5. Secret Sloper

    What a great weekend! I’m with you on museums–I lived 3 blocks from the Met for 4 years and only went to it twice. Shameful! We both need to get back on the museum beat.

    I’m glad January ended so nicely for you.

  6. Thanks, girlfriend! I had an awesome time hanging with you too. And I blogged about how awesome you are as well 🙂

    Glad the last few days have looked up a bit. Hopefully good things to come this month!

  7. Tarah

    Oh I love Lost too – but we’re on Season 4 right now so I’m trying to avoid all “spoilers” this season may bring. I know it’ll be really hard to not hear/read how it ends but I’m trying!

  8. Sounds super excellent. I personally am a big February-hater, both when I lived in Chicago and now here in Ohio. So I’m really glad you’ve got something to look forward to.

  9. Zuly

    I’m also so happy that January is over!!! February is going to be our month friend!!!

  10. Al

    What a great weekend! So very awesome that you met Kate and Ben!! I love meeting bloggers, it really is like meeting an old friend, isn’t it?

    I agree Jan is one of the worst months of the year, esp in the Chi. I’m glad you loved the modern wing, the hubs and I will have to check that out.

  11. Al

    And here’s to a fantastic Feb!!

  12. Way to go out with a bang!! Good riddance January! I have not been to the Modern Wing yet and am dying to go, I also can’t believe the Lost premiere is tomorrow!! I almost don’t want it to start, because I don’t want it to end.

  13. What an awesome weekend!

    We saw “Up in the Air” and I liked it, but I just didn’t love it. I do think it will win.

  14. What a fun weekend! We were snowed in! Well, for Nashville!
    How great you and Kate got to meet in real life!! So jealous!!
    Onto February cycle!!!

  15. January is the same for me, being just 2 hours southeast of Chicago. Grey, cold, boring really. February brings more sun, the fun of Valentine’s, some “springy” feeling days, and just brighter times in general.

    Your weekend sounds perfect. There is no better city, imo, than Chicago. I love it so much. I’ve been wanting to see the new modern wing of the art institute. This post makes me want to get up there…it’s been too long and I don’t think I have another trip there until April!! But it will be very beautiful and springy by then!

    Christina

Leave a Reply

