By popular demand(ish)

In the comments of my last post, my faithful readers wondered 1) what my hair cut looks like, and 2) about my Super Bowl recipes!

1) Disclaimer: I do NOT  look anything like Gwyneth Paltrow, except I adore this style she began sporting last spring and copied it. It’s super low-maintenance (perf for a runner girl like me) and it’s sunnily, naturally blonde (perf for a, let’s be honest, dirty blonde like me). Maybe someday I will post an actual pic of myself. Until then, I don’t mind if, when you think of Egg, you think of Gwyneth. 🙂 Totally wrong, but no harm for now!

2) I’m including the prosciutto-wrapped dates with cheese and mint recipe below, because it seemed to be the biggest bloggie crowd-pleaser out of all of the delicious-ness hubs and I cooked on Sunday. (It’s an easy recipe, promise!) It was a pretty random SB snack, I must admit. But I’ve been wanting to make something like this ever since I sent Kate from This Place Is Now a Home to Avec after our bloggers-meet-IRL drink a couple weeks ago. (Avec does this dates dish spectacularly well, you must order it if you are ever in Chicago and eating there.) This Bon Appetit version did not disappoint. Unless you’re serving a crowd, you may want to half this recipe…it makes a whole lotta dates.

Ingredients

  • 20 Medjool dates
  • 20 whole fresh mint leaves
  • 1 3-ounce piece Manchego cheese, cut into twenty 1 1/2×1/4×1/4-inch strips
  • 4 3-ounce packages thinly sliced pancetta (we used prosciutto and did not use nearly this much)

Preparation

  • Cut small slice off 1 short end of each date and discard. Using tweezers or needlenose pliers, carefully remove pits from dates through small opening; discard pits. Place 1 mint leaf across opening of 1 date, covering cavity. Using 1 cheese strip, push mint leaf and cheese into date cavity. Using fingers, pinch date opening closed. Repeat with remaining dates, mint leaves, and cheese strips. Wrap 3 pancetta slices securely around each date, enclosing date completely. Place pancetta-wrapped dates on baking sheet, spacing slightly apart. 
  • Preheat oven to 375°F. Bake dates uncovered until pancetta is crisp and bottoms of dates caramelize, about 30 minutes. Using tongs, transfer dates to platter and serve warm.
That’s all, carry on!
12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “By popular demand(ish)

  1. Love the cut. Super cute! I am so badly in need of a haircut it’s embarrassing. Remember when I blogged about getting a haircut in November?? Yeah, still haven’t gotten one…

    Thanks for the recipe. I’ll definitely keep it in mind if I ever cook. Ha!

  2. Cute haircut. I want to get something similar with layers and parted in the front.

  3. Loooove that haircut. I remember she was on Conan, and her hair was so frickin cute I seriously contemplated cutting mine!!!

    And obsessed with Avec, and those dates are to die for!!! So impressed you made them yourselves!

  4. Leslie

    The haircut is so cute!!

  5. Secret Sloper

    Those dates sound awesome. Thanks, Gwynnie!

  6. Yes yes yes! First of all, to everyone out there, she really does resemble Gwyneth, so it’s not that far off 🙂

    And second of all, those bacon wrapped, chorizo-stuffed dates at Avec were TO DIE FOR, so I will def be trying this recipe someday soon. Who needs ice cream and pickles when you have snacks like these!?

  7. Cute haircut – I try to go short every once in a while and end up hating it. I’m jealous! 🙂

  8. I know you are more beautiful than Gwyneth!!! I do like the haircut though!

  9. Snazzy haircut! I’m hoping as I get more and more grey in my hair it will start to look blond again…

  10. Love the haircut! And those dates sound awesome. Thanks for posting the recipe. 🙂

  11. Umm, yum! I’m coming to your house next year for the superbowl!! 🙂

  12. What a cute haircut! I wish I could pull that off!

Leave a Reply

