Dressing for spring

Spring has most definitely not sprung in Chicago. (It’s snowing outside as I type this.) But when the weather turns, we will have some fun trips coming up—so many friends getting married! I have plenty of dresses in my closet, yet I’m finding myself contemplating a new purchase or two. After all, with six weddings to hit, I’m going to need options! And considering how blah I feel about my body and my utter lack of  success in baby-making, I need SOMETHING to cheer me up. Why not retail therapy? Here are some of the dresses I have my eye on. Every time I hunt around online, I find another one I love….

For the fancy black-tie wedding in NYC…this Milly maxi dress. I’m digging the gold! But I would def need to apply some faux tanner!

For rehearsal dinner(s) (we have five!)…this Kate Spade tiered skirt is so cheery! I would have to find a cute white tank to go with it.

For the outdoor June wedding on the Chesapeake Bay…this floral-print dress by Twinkle. The pattern and colors are totally different from anything I own.

For the other NYC wedding, which is not quite as fancy as the first one, but still fancy…this Rachel Pally long dress (you can adjust the white floaty straps and tie them all sorts of ways).I was also thinking it would be cute for my BIL’s wedding in Florida in early April. The material is jersey…wondering if it looks more “day at the beach” than “island wedding” in real life?

Finally, for the wedding back in my hometown, or the one in Virginia, or maybe a rehearsal dinner….this Elizabeth and James short dress. I’m drawn to it, but I wonder if the sleeves would look puffy and ridiculous on me in real life?

And in case you’re wondering, nope, I didn’t just win the lottery. 🙂 I will not be buying all of these! I’m just dreaming, maybe taking the plunge on one. I would love to hear your fashion advice!!!

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Dressing for spring

  1. Tarah

    I LOOOOOOOOOOVE LOVE LOVE that gold dress! It.Is.Stunning! haha. I think longer dresses look so elegant too. I would be too afraid to wear the Elizabeth and James dress, but I hate my legs right now so don’t listen to me. I love the purple color though, that’s my favorite color!

  2. LTB

    I really love the Rachel Pally! And the yellow skirt is awesome! I’m a huge fan of bright colours!Super cute! I’m sure they would all look stunning! Isn’t online browsing/shopping amazing! If only we could win the lottery!

  3. A

    Wow, I was like, GEEZ she has alot of nice clothes! I love all your selections! Time to play the powerball!!

    BTW, I left you some awards on my blog 🙂

  4. I like the gold one and the black one. The purple one is much too short for my liking. 🙂

  5. Oh! I love the gold dress — it’s such a show-stopper.

    By the way, Chicago is a great city. So fun! I had a friend who lived there way back when and I would visit every chance that I got.

  6. Given that you are drop dead gorgeous (sorry, Al outed you with her group photo, and now you can’t deny it!), I imagine you can carry off any of these numbers! I also really dig the gold one. You have fabulous taste!

  7. Since I’m in the fashion business myself, I can definitely confirm you have amazing taste…haha!!! Seriously though, such great finds and I think you deserve to splurge on at least one (if not a few) of those beauties!! The gold is totally a showstopper…a nice little spray tan, and you’re golden…literally! 🙂

  8. That gold one is fabulous! I agree about the sleeves on the purple one. I’d totally wear that yellow skirt. 🙂

  9. That is a lot of rehearsal dinners! At least you will get some yummy food. Love that black dress. So pretty. You are pretty stylish in your choices. The stuff I pick is normally boring and fuddy duddy 🙂

  10. I say if you need/have to choose just one, go for the yellow tiered skirt! It’s super adorable and could be VERY versatile!

  11. JC

    These dresses/skirt are sooooooo cute!!! I LOVE that first gold dress, you HAVE to buy that!!!!!!!! And take pictures and show us! =)

  12. Retail therapy is the best therapy there is. I love the choices. You should have a vote. Sometimes it would be fun to go out and shop til ya drop and not worry about moo-lah, but hey we can dream!!!

  13. Never, ever, ever ask me for fashion advice. I’m as bad at fashion as I am at baby-making. That said, I think you have some pretty sweet options. I’m partial to the long black one. And the cute floral one. You know you’ll have to take pictures of your actual outfits for the next 6 weddings, right?

  14. wow, sounds like you have a super busy year of events lined up!! i love love love the gold dress :o) you should go buy that lotto ticket anyways … since this infertility thing started, i figure i’m due for *some luck* and started buying tix … one can dream!

  15. Secret Sloper

    I love that gold dress! You will make an entrance in it. It’s so springy, too.

    When are you here in NYC?

  16. LOVE LOVE LOVE everything! Too bad we don’t live in the same city. We’d be shopping together all the time. Super cute finds.

  17. Tio

    I love them all, except the last. Sorry, the puffy sleeve thing doesn’t do it for me! I particularly like the yellow skirt… but I’m biased since I love most yellow things.
    The long Jersey dress would be really versatile. Jersey is a great fabric because it’s super comfy. You could wear it for an afternoon function without feeling over-dressed but the cut is so lovely that it is definitely suitable for a fancy evening bash as well.
    Let us know which one (or two?) you get!

  18. Al

    I love the Rachel Pally dress! So pretty. And I agree with TIO, don’t get the last one! But I like the rest of them…

    Let us know if you end up buying any..

  19. Pingback: Oh, what a week « Such A Good Egg

Leave a Reply

