Approaching the Iceberg*?

My weekend was SO GOOD. My Mom was in town and we were busy little bees. Shopping, eating, spa-ing, museum going, talking, walking, sipping coffee, laughing. We didn’t talk about IF stuff much. It only came up at lunch on Saturday. We were discussing all of the weddings hubs and I have coming up. And how there will be so many weekends filled with babies and pregnant friends…and how it hurts just thinking about it. I teared up and so did she. It’s funny how this desire to have a baby is with me 100% of the time, but it still manages to sock me in the stomach every now and then, isn’t it?

But that was 1% of the weekend and 99% of it was happy and recharging and wonderful. Ahhhh. It was good. My Mom splurged on me BIG TIME….it was totally unnecessary but very, very nice. I love my Mom. So. Much. I miss her already. I’m feeling weepy today because she’s gone. It’s back to life, back to reality. (On the upside, hubs is back in town after a weekend of guy time at his little brother’s bachelor party. I love having him back home. I’m already feeling sniffly about me leaving for three days for a work trip next Sunday. Whew, someone is EMOTIONAL today! 🙂 )

Here’s another bit of news: My period came on Sunday. RIGHT ON SCHEDULE!

I’m super relieved. I’m also incredibly nervous. I’m afraid of what tomorrow will hold. Tomorrow morning at baseline monitoring I will either find out we are good to go for this upcoming cycle or else I will find out the cyst is still there. I think I can feel it. Who knows. I’m getting mentally and emotionally prepared to ask Dr. C to drain it. I don’t know what the draining entails—I think they can do it via ultrasound?—how quickly they can do it, if this will effect starting my cycle right away, whether I’ll have to take time off work, etc. Whatever happens, I MUST move forward. I cannot wait any longer. Two months has felt like an eternity. I’m freaking out a little bit.

*Like the one in Elizabeth Bishop’s poem, The Imaginary Iceberg.

16 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

16 responses to “Approaching the Iceberg*?

  1. I’m glad you had such a great weekend with your mom. Crossing my fingers for NO cyst and a green light for this cycle!

  2. Tarah

    I can see your happiness about your weekend in your post – I’m so glad you got much needed time with your mom! They are the greatest! I’m glad you only had a little blip on an otherwise wonderful weekend!

    I am keeping my fingers crossed and sending out lots of good thoughts about your monitoring. I hope your doc agrees to drain the cyst IF it’s there still. I really and truly hope this is your cycle!

    http://lovelyladybump.blogspot.com/

  3. Yay for AF coming! Now let’s get this show on the road. Wahoo!!

  4. Yay for your period right on schedule! Go body! Good luck at your appointment. Whatever you have to do, you will do, and you’ll move forward onto bigger and better things. Thinking of you!

  5. Wow, I can honestly say I’ve never been so happy for someone’s AF to come! I will be sending you TONS of good vibes for tomorrow. But like you said, you have a plan and no matter what sitting on the bench isn’t part of it. But really hoping that dang cyst has just been shrunken to oblivion (sp)!!! Good luck tomorrow, everything crossed for good news for you!!

  6. LTB

    Mom’s rule! You are too cute and your mom seems just as cute too! So happy you had an awesome time gearing up to this week’s big ultrasound! Good luck tomorrow, hope that bugger of a cyst is long gone! Can’t wait to hear the update!
    LTB

  7. JC

    I’m so glad you had such a great weekend with your Mom! You guys sound like me and my Mom. She splurges on me too when we shop =). She even ordered me mineral make up and brought it to me this weekend and I love it!

    I’m so glad you started right when you wanted to. I hope that cyst is gone tomorrow! =)

  8. Hi! I actually just found your website when I did a google search for “Ovidrel and cyst”. I also then spent a half an hour reading your entire blog.

    We have AMAZINGLY similar stories right now, check out my blog. Because of this, I think we should be buddies! Check out my blog and let’s email!

  9. So glad that you had a good weekend with your mom. I like it when my mom comes up and we get to go shopping and hang out as well. I hope your monitoring appointment goes well. We will be on the same track cycle wise 🙂

  10. hollytraveling

    Glad you had a great weekend!! Hope everything goes well tomorrow. I know it will.

  11. Woot woot!! Woot for a great weekend with your mom and woot for AF’s arrival! I am crossing everything I can that tomorrow’s appointment goes well and you get the green light to cycle. I’m sure cystie is gone, but good for you to be prepared with follow-up questions/requests for your doc. Hoping for good news tomorrow!!!
    My mom and I are also super close and luckily we both live in the same city (just on opposite ends). I can’t imagine only seeing her every few months. Glad you got to soak up as much time together as possible doing fun things. Sounds like you got the most out of her visit 🙂

  12. Secret Sloper

    Yes to AF! I am so, so ready for you to tackle that cyst and get this cycle moving!

    I’m glad you had such a lovely weekend with your mom. It is such a blessing to have our mothers here beside us as we struggle through the disappointment of life unexpected.

    And, in answer to your comment– I would love to see you when you’re in NYC this spring. I’m super close to the West Village, just 25 minutes by subway. Let’s email when you’re on your way and we can get together whenever it fits into your wedding schedule.

  13. Zuly

    Im so happy that you got your period!!! Good luck tomorrow, I will thinking of you. I’m sure everything is going to turn out great =)

  14. I’m so glad you got to take your mind off things with mom! I am thinking about you today!!

  15. I’m hoping today has already brought you wonderful news.

  16. Al

    Glad you had a fantastic weekend with your mom! And yay for AF coming and the disappearance of your cystie. So happy you get to try this month!!

Leave a Reply

