Work 2.0, Injects 2.0

Hi bloggies! Sorry for being MIA. My laptop died over the weekend (RIP dear lappie), which has put a damper on my commenting, so big apologies there. Work has also been super busy. Partly because I got a promotion last week. (Yip!) My hours are going to be longer and more intense from here on out, but I’m very happy about it. 🙂 I’m not entirely sure how this happened considering how distracted I’ve felt by RE appointments and worrying and Googling and clandestine trips to the conference room to call nurses and monthly freak-outs in the bathroom stall over the past year.

Yet. Somehow. Some way. Confession: While I have always been driven and ambitious in my career, I assumed that by this point in my life I would be happily raising a kiddo and either a) working part time, or b) freelancing from home. Literally, a year ago the possibility of this promotion seemed so far away and I had frankly written it off, thinking I’d be done with the full-time office job by now. Yet here I am, still scrambling up the proverbial ladder. But I will happily take it. I feel very, very fortunate to be learning and growing in a career that I love. I am grateful—so extremely grateful—that this part of my life is going well.

I could go on a lot longer about this, but I will stop here. It’s a weird thing, wanting to excel at work, being thrilled when you do….and yet….feeling so very FAR from excelling in other, crucial, heartbreaking ways. I have a feeling you guys know what I mean. It has my head whirring in new and interesting ways. (Which isn’t bad.)

In other news, we had a fabulous time at the wedding this weekend. The Chesapeake Bay had picture-perfect, sunshine-y, BEAUTIFUL weather and I came home with a slight suntan. We spent Saturday afternoon on a 40-foot sailboat in the Bay with my BFF from college and her hubs. We were all a little (lot) hungover (the rehearsal dinner was a raucous crab feast with Dark & Stormy cocktails and lots of ice cold Sauvingon Blanc) and it felt good to just lounge in the sun, laughing, catching up and enjoying those lazy moments of silence that really only feel 100% comfortable with certain people you’ve known forever. You know? The wedding on Saturday night was equally awesome, with more drinks and an amazing seafood bar during cocktail hour (oysters are my fave!) and a ton of dancing.

So, that’s what’s up. I’ll share my riveting monitoring updates when I go in for my CD8 check-in tomorrow. Until then!

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Work 2.0, Injects 2.0

  1. i was just wondering if everything was okay bc you hadn’t posted in a while. congrats on the promotion!!! a year ago, i thought i’d be turning in my notice by now to stay at home with my baby, but no such luck. i got my promotion in april and while i’m thrilled about it, i’d rather excel in the procreation dept than at work. but at least work is going well. for both of us!

    yaay for an awesome wedding weekend! *fingers crossed* for a good monitoring appt tomorrow!! xxx

  2. Eggie! I missed you. The wedding sounds just lovely. I’m going to make myself a Dark and Stormy today for sure.

    Congratulations on the promotion–that truly is wonderful, and I’m so glad you can enjoy it and enjoy being valued by your employers, in spite of the other stuff going on in your life. I wish I could take a page from your book and give my career the attention it deserves, but…I’m lazy? Anyway, I’m so hoping this cycle will go perfectly and not give you any extra heartache.

  3. Tarah

    BIG CONGRATS! A promotion is awesome! Good for you! 😀

    I’m so glad you had a great time this weekend, it really sounds like a great, relaxing time and I’m a bit jealous of the ice cold Sauvingon Blanc AND the crabs. YUM!

    http://lovelyladybump.blogspot.com/

  4. AL

    Congrats on the promotion, girl! Great news 🙂

    The wedding weekend sounds fantastic.

    GL at monitoring tomorrow..hoping for a great follie report!

  5. Mara

    That’s fantastic! Congrats on the promotion! And that vacation – OMG that sounds fabulous.

    Can’t wait to hear about stims! You are doing this cycle at U of C, right?

  6. Congrats on the promotion!!! That’s big and exciting news! I can feel the tides of change a-turning!

  7. Congratulations!!! A promotion is such a wonderful validation of the great work you do!

    Can’t wait to hear how your monitoring appointment goes tomorrow. 🙂

  8. Yay! You’re back! I’d been missing your blog posts. Congrats on the promotion.

  9. Hey, great job on the promotion! Clearly you are more subtle in your bathroom breakdowns than you thought. Hope the new role will distract you from all the IF crap…or annoying pregnancy symptoms after this IUI?

  10. LTB

    Yeah! So happy to hear from you and I’m totally thrilled for you that you got that promotion! Way to go! Good luck at monitoring tomorrow! Don’t forget to keep us posted! We miss you when you are gone!
    LTB

  11. Egg!! I missed you!!

    That promotion kicks ass. At least you can feel like you are advancing personally/professionally while you wait to get pregnant (because the alternative is no good, let me tell you). Take this new job as a sign of amazing things to come–new work, new life experiences, a new RE, new treatment, new hope.

  12. zully

    Congratulations!! I’m glad that you had an amazing weekend. I hope tomorrow you get good news =) Big Hug!

  13. Happy Promotion! That’s great great news!

  14. Yay for the promotion! I so understand you on being successful in one part of your life, while the other is so painfully not working out.
    And good friends and cocktails and sailing and sunshine all sound wonderful.

  15. Congrats on the promotion, Egg! That is so, so awesome. I know you’ll succeed in the “other” part soon, too. Good luck at monitoring – hope you get a great follie report!

  16. Congratulations on the promotion! You rock, girl. 🙂 Off to check out your latest post about monitoring…

  17. Congratulations on the promotion! And that wedding trip sounds absolutely sublime. There is just nothing like connecting with old friends.

  18. Pingback: Job stuff « Such A Good Egg

Leave a Reply

