Home sweet home

We saw the sweetest sight this morning. Two heartbeats, both at 118bpm. Baby A is measuring 6w2d and Baby B is measuring 6w3d. (They flip flopped since the last measurement! Cuties.) We are so happy!!! 🙂

I get very very VERY nervous for these ultrasounds, but the simmering anxiety didn’t bubble to a boil until Sunday-ish this time around. Thank you, distracting vacay! I wish I could make the time pass quickly on a trip to beautiful Oregon every week….ha!

Still no sore boobs or nausea or any of that stuff. I know I am very, very lucky thus far. But when you’re scared this wonderful dream will—POOF!—be gone in an instant, a symptom or two would be comforting…..oh well!

We have only told my parents. (I called my Mom right after the positive Beta.) Hubs is allowed to tell his Mom and Dad now that we have seen heartbeats….but his whole family is getting together (sans hubs and me) for Labor Day weekend and we’re afraid his Mom will spill the beans to the siblings. So we’re holding off on telling his parents until next week. If everything looks okay at the next ultrasound. (Please Lord, let these babies be healthy and continue growing perfectly!!!)

In other news, my RE’s office told me it’s time to book an appointment with an ob-gyn. The crazy thing is that before alllllll of this TTC stuff, I saw a gyno-family practitioner. Not an ob. So I have no one in mind. And of course I’ve been much too superstitious to actually dig around on this. But, apparently, it’s time. I know that I will not make the same mistake I made with RE Clinic #1…I won’t blindly walk into a clinic and assume it’ll be a good fit. I will be doing my homework!!!

27 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

27 responses to “Home sweet home

  1. Kelly

    Awesome news! I’m so glad the babies are both doing well.

    Doing doctor homework is never fun, but I’ve learned that lesson too. Hope you find someone who fits you to a T.

  2. YEAH! So awesome and so amazing to see those little hearts beating! So glad you had some nice distractions this past week. Do you have one more ultrasound with Dr. A before your OB appointment? OBs (especially the good ones) book up fast, so I would get something on the calendar asap so the time between the last RE ultrasound and 1st OB ultrasound is minimal!

  3. LTB

    Hey Egg! Such sweet wonderful news! Maybe you can ask one of the bloggies that lives in Boston near you which OB they see! I think I remember that Basic Girl and A+B and The Baby Race all live near you! And, like you did with your RE, you can always switch if you don’t like your OB! Congrats and I’m soooooo happy for you!!!
    LTB

  4. Wonderful news! Wow, I still can’t believe you’re having twins! So exciting!

    Does your RE recommend anyone as an OB? Usually other doctors know who is good or not, especially when the fields are so similar… and they myst have passed on many women to OB’s before!

    I am so thrilled for those beautiful heartbeats!

  5. That is great! We are almost the exact same. I’m 6 w 2 d today! So jealous that you have seen yours. My scan is in a week. I did go ahead and make an ob appointment but feel really supersititious also. So happy for you.

  6. Two stunning heartbeats AND a stellar vacation? Yay, Egg! 🙂 My RE gave me a list of OBs in my area, specifically identifying which ones are frequently used by other IF patients…maybe that could be helpful for you? Good luck! So exciting!

  7. I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t totally jealous of you and your twin little beans. 🙂 I’m very happy that they are doing well. I can’t believe you are searching for OBs already! That’s so awesome!!! Hopefully one of the other Chi-town bloggers can recommend a good one. Thinking of you daily and praying that those beans keep growing nice and strong!

    xo

  8. Glad you had a good vacation and a good scan. I bet all of a sudden you may get smacked with the symptoms. Hopefully not though.

  9. I’m so glad you got to see those heartbeats! It’s so real now!

  10. Two heartbeats! How incredible! It’s so hard to imagine how your body is doing all this without any symptoms! But I believe before too long you’ll have something better than puking and aching, and that’s visible evidence that they’re in there. Like being able to see from the outside!

  11. CW

    congratulations eggie! your news still warms my heart 🙂

  12. Glad you are home and the ultrasound went well. I am stressing about mine next week! Sounds like you are passing yours with flying colors. Keep up the good work!

  13. FCblacksheep

    Oh wow, that’s fabulous. So happy for you. Glad it all went well and I’m happy you had a good vacation.

  14. Glad everyone is in good shape and that you are relaxed. Enjoy the lack of symptoms while you can! You deserve it 🙂

  15. Here from LFCA…

    Congratulations! Wishing you all the best.

  16. 2 heartbeats is wonderful! I’m so glad this u/s was reassuring. Don’t worry about being symptomless. They might just sneak up on you!

  17. Congratulations!!! Praying for another excellent u/s next week!!

  18. My advice is to pick your hospital first, and then look for an OB who delivers out of that hospital. You want a hospital with a Level III NICU in case your twins are born super early. Otherwise, you could end up stuck at one hospital while they send your babies off to another hospital.

  19. Tarah

    Fantastic! 🙂 I’m so thrilled for you Egg – SO thrilled. I love reading your updates. I get nervous about two weeks prior to my appointments as well, I’m good for about two weeks after the appointment and then I start wishing time would speed up so the next one would get here and have some reassurance!

  20. What wonderful, wonderful news!! I am so happy for you and your rapidly expanding family!

  21. Sweet times 2, congratulations!

  22. This is the BEST news!!

    I had my RE recommend an ob/gyn for me and I ended up loving her as much as I loved the RE!

  23. SOOO wonderful!!!! Yay sweet wonderful heartbeats.

    I would recommend finding an OB ASAP, they book weeks and weeks in advance and are a total pain to get in to see.

  24. I’m so happy things are going so well for you!! And, let me say it again: TWINS!! SOOOOOO exciting!

  25. Omigosh Egg, TWINS!!! I’m so beyond excited for you, this is so amazing! And remember I’m proof that no symptoms can mean just that, and everything is still a-okay with the babies!! Thinking of you!

  26. Carli

    Congratulations! Two heartbeats is wonderful news! I will be hoping that all progresses as it should for a healthy and happy (as close to) 9 months (with twins that you can get!)

  27. lady pumpkin

    Two heartbeats! What great news! Congratulations and hugs.

Leave a Reply

