Sweet things

This is going to be short and sweet because I’m off to a meeting.

THE BABIES ARE DOING GREAT!!!!

They stayed perfectly still and in the exact right position during the scan measurements. (The tech said they were really good babies, hahaha.) Then, once the measurements were over, they got active! We saw them moving around, their sweet little hearts thumping away (we got to hear that sound today, ohhhhhh it was awesome). The entire experience just melted my heart into a puddle. I love them so much. I seriously could’ve stared at them for hours and hours and hours. Two tiny miracles. 🙂

So then we met with the genetic counselor and they passed the NT Scan and blood tests with flying colors. Both babies have a less than 1 in 10,000 risk of any of the genetic disorders that were tested for. PHEW! Then we did a 12-weeks check-up with one of Dr. Zen’s partners, which basically entailed me asking a dozen questions. It was a long morning.

I’m not sure if it’s possible to convey how worked up I get myself for these appointments. It is just sooooo hard to believe that after so much heart ache and fear and despair, my body can do this—support two lives!—and that things can be going so well. You know? And I know we are NOT out of the woods just because everything was okay today. There are many more hurdles to come. But at 12w1d, our babies are healthy and perfect and we are absolutely over the moon. 🙂

Great job babies, you are such good, sweet little things. We love you so much! Keep growing big and strong!!! We can’t wait to see you again!!

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “Sweet things

  1. VERY sweet. I am so happy for you… these little guys (or girls) (or one of each) will continue to thrive!

  2. What an awesome, amazing day, Egg. I’m so happy for you!

  3. Wonderful news, Egg family! (I hope your babies read this blog so they’ll get their instructions!) I hope for once the happiness lasts for several weeks. This seriously is a HUGE hurdle, my dear, and you just leaped over it like an Olympian.

  4. Tarah

    Not out of the woods yet but really really close!!! I know how you feel, I kept waiting for the other shoe to drop when I would go in for my appointments but it never did.

    Congrats on your two healthy babies!!! Can’t wait to see pictures. 🙂

  5. Jen

    Such awesome news! See, no symptoms can still be great!!

  6. I have been waiting all day to see this! Good for you.

  7. YES! AWESOME NEWS! So excited for you! Those babies are so lucky to have parents like you!

  8. Yay for a great appointment! I’m so glad things are going in the right direction. And congrats on having “good” babies. 🙂 It’s always nice when the tech can see everything they are looking for. I hope your mind is at ease for a while now.

  9. great news … as i expected! 🙂 second trimester here you come!

  10. WHOO HOO! So glad everything looked great and your sweet babies were so cooperative! Isn’t hearing the heartbeat the most amazing sound ever? It’s really incredible…probably made it the most ‘real’ for us. Glad everything is good and you are SO close to the 2nd Tri! What a relief for you…I know how nerve-wracking those appointments can be.

    So happy!! xoxo

  11. Yay! I am so happy for you!

  12. Hi bestie. I can understand your worry! That is great great news that everything is A-OK!! Love ya!

  13. I love when the babies get compliments. Yours are very clearly deserving said compliments, by the way. I’m SOO glad everything continues to go well. I know it’s impossible not to worry, but I do think getting pregnant and staying pregnant are two entirely different skills. And your body is clearly amazing when it comes to growing babies. Enjoy this post-appointment high!

  14. Amy

    Yayyyyy!!!!!!!!! What sweet relief! I am so so happy for you. Of course long way to go, but this is such a huge milestone, and you’ve really earned giving yourself a break from worry for a while. What wonderful news – has made my day! Time to start spreading the news, eh? Enjoy every minute.

  15. I. AM. SO HAPPY. FOR. YOU!!!! L, this is such wonderful news today. I’m so excited for you. After such a long struggle, months of being benched, lining issues, not to mention the emotional ups and downs, you’ve finally gotten there! You give me hope :). xo

  16. YAY!!! Best news ever!! These babies are very good babies and they are not going anywhere before they have express permission.

    When are you guys going to give them little nicknames? Or do you just not feel like sharing that with us?

  17. CW

    Oh that was the nicest news to see this morning. Go junior eggs 🙂

  18. Jeanna

    Yeeeeeah!! So glad. Maybe you can soon start relaxing and knowing that these babies are going to be in your arms and JUST FINE in just a matter of months.

  19. WOO HOO! Go babies, go! Congratulations, Egg. 🙂

  20. Heidi

    what a relief!!! what an amazing day 🙂 you are blessed!

  21. Oh, friend, I am so so so so so happy for you. When I logged on this morning the very first thing I did was come check to see if you’d updated and I was so happy to see your post title! I can understand the stress and worry, and surely it won’t stop even once these babies are born and walking and driving and dating!! That’s surely just a part of being a mom, which I know you’ll take to wonderfully. I am just over the moon for you!!

  22. AL

    Awesome awesome awesome! I knew it would be great news!

    Huge congratulations and so ecstatic for you that things are going perfectly 🙂

  23. Oh, such wonderful news! That makes my day!

  24. That is wonderful. I’m so happy for you!

  25. Hey! Thanks for your comment:> And, go babies go!! Around 19 weeks, I could start feeling my little guy move. It was the best ever. Good days are ahead!!

Leave a Reply

