I didn’t run my 10th marathon on 10-10-10

And I couldn’t be happier about it. 🙂

Yesterday, on the awesome date of 10-10-10, 45,000 runners woke up at the crack of dawn and raced 26.2 miles in the Chicago Marathon. I watched the elite athletes race on TV. Even if you are not into running, if you want to see the most inspiring, chills-inducing finish EVER, please watch this AWESOME video that shows the last mile or so of the men’s race (they run so fast it’s only a few minutes long). I was literally yelping so loudly from the living room that hubs had to come in to see what all of the racket was about. I got to meet Sammy Wanjiru last year for work—he’s the guy in red—and I heart him!! (Weird coincidence, the day I interviewed him was also the day I popped my first-ever Clomid pill.)

For the past 15 months I have been so careful about not over-extending my body and that has meant no racing and no long distance runs. (Except for a race over Memorial Day weekend, right after I found out IUI/injects 1.0 was a bust and I was on bench month because of a cyst.) This has honestly been pretty tough for me because I guess you could say I have always fallen back on races as life-preservers to get me through hard spots. I signed up for my very first marathon when I was a few months out of college….hubs was working insane 100+ hour weeks in his i-banking job in NYC and I was feeling lonely and lost in a new city. Answer: Find a goal, connect with the running community, dedicate myself to training and feel good about myself during a rough time. (It worked!)

Of course I have done plenty of races just for the fun of it, but I have repeated that recipe throughout my life. When we moved to Chicago three major things happened within the span of one month….we were plopped into a new city, I started a new job, and we got married. Whew! My answer to the stress: train for and run the Chicago Marathon, of course!

During infertility treatment, training would’ve been a great coping mechanism for the hormones and stress I was putting myself through. Based on my hormone levels—and the fact that I was not underweight or low on body fat or anything like that—neither Dr. C, nor Dr. K, nor Dr. Awesome said running caused my anovulation (that may forever be a mystery), but they all agreed I should relax on it during treatment. Running was exactly the opposite of what my body (physically) needed. And we wanted a baby so very very very badly that there was NO QUESTION I would chill the heck out and let my body rest up.

So I stopped training for stuff cold turkey. And as for plain old exercise, I stopped running hard, and long, and I ran less often.

Over the past year I have fielded a lot of questions from coworkers and friends about what race I’m gearing up for next. When a big part of your identity is as an active, sporty, race-running person, I guess that’s what happens. It would hurt my heart every time I’d give my “Actually, I’m taking some time off and running for fun for the joy of running!” response.

It was the truth, but still.

I told my bosses we are pregnant on Thursday morning (!!!) and gave them the green light to tell people at work (I am much too shy for that!). So the news slowly trickled around most of the office by the end of the week.

I think it’s pretty awesome that I was given the gift of feeling comfortable enough to tell people right before the marathon.

Now when someone asks me, “Did you race this weekend?” I can say, “Nope. I am pregnant!” I am so lucky and so very very grateful to be where I am today.

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “I didn’t run my 10th marathon on 10-10-10

  1. AL

    This post makes me smile, it sounds like so much of the fear from previous posts has disappeared a bit and you’re comfortable sharing the news of your preggo-ness! Yay 🙂

    I caught the last mile on tv – it was amazing to watch! {And it also made me feel very fat and lazy… 🙂 }

  2. That’s wonderful, I’ve been taking it easy too with exercise. I have a prenatal yoga DVD which is wonderful for working out all those sore muscles and DH & I went on a hike yesterday. I get out of breath much quicker than I use too – thankfully DH went slow on my behalf. It was just exciting to think this time next year we’ll have a baby strapped to our chest and taking that hike.

  3. Yay for coming out of the pregnancy closet… and perfect timing!! It must be so fun to not only spill the beans about the pregnancy, but also to announce it’s twins!! So glad that everything is going so well! Do we get to see ultrasound pics soon?

  4. This is such a wonderful and happy post. Congrats on not running this marathon — though I guess you are in the middle of another, much longer one!

  5. I just wanted to pop in and say hello. I’ve been following you since I read about you on Launderlife’s blog. I’m elated at your news, and I pray for you every time I see an update.

    I may not know you, but my heart relates to your desire for a family. You are a strong and vibrant woman. Stay strong and be blessed!
    Trisha

  6. Love this post! So glad that you watched from the sidelines so full of peace and happiness. I know how hard it was for you to cut-back from what you love while you were cycling.

    I can totally see hubs cheering you on at future races with two babes in a stroller 🙂

  7. Awww! TEAR! I’m sorry you had to sacrifice this part of your life, and happy that you got the reward such a sacrifice deserves in time for this event. And however unlikely it may seem, you can start running again all too soon, to beat the baby blues!

  8. Kelly

    What great timing! I completely understand what you mean about running being your outlet for stress relief and it being the very thing you’re prohibited from. How frustrating. I’m so glad you’re in the place you are currently, though. So glad.

  9. You have been running a different kind of marathon this past year and you are getting closer and closer to that last mile. I’m so glad you were able to celebrate the day and that the secrets are all disappearing. The next marathon you run, your babies will be waiting to cheer for you at the end 🙂

  10. You know…this has been really bugging me lately. Everyone knows me as the “running girl” and asks about what races I’m training for, etc. It’s all a lot of people know about me, so it is an easy topic of conversation…errr, was. Now, when people ask, I say that I am taking a break from running. They seem shocked and for the past 6 months have been repeatedly asking..”still taking that break?” I want to scream…I’d LOVE to be running, but well, you know it isn’t best. I do promise you, though…you will get this identity back. It’s just in hibernation for a while…

  11. Oh, L, this makes me so happy! LOVE this post and elated you told work! THIS. IS. REAL :). Xoxo

  12. This is so great!! And I am so happy for you that you are reaching the point where you can comfortably tell people and enjoy actually being pregnant! And it’s certainly an exciting answer to those questions. Let us know how telling the others in your lives goes!!

Leave a Reply

