16-week appointment

Since I got to see the babies last week before taking off for my trip home to see my folks, I have felt more calm than anxious. Of course, the worry about this amazing dream going POOF is in the back of mind 24-7, but it’s easier to keep the good thoughts front and center after seeing them. 🙂 Sooooo, today was my official 16-weeks appointment, which meant another u/s peek inside (yip!). All there really is to say is that all is well!! I could bore you with details from my convo with my doc (one of Dr. Zen’s partners, they rotate you through each OB in the clinic in the early appointments) about my ubiquitous constie-ness, waking up on my back, cervix stuff, weird rib pains, a comes-and-goes ache on my right side about where I think my ovary is, my shuffling/jogging routine, etc, but I will spare you the details.

The best part is that I saw the babies and they were moving around and their little hearts were beating away. I love them so much! 🙂

Next appointment is in two weeks and then the big anatomy scan—where we finally, finally, finally find out the genders—is in four weeks and three days. We won’t do much toward figuring out the babies’ room or what we’re registering for until we know if we have girls, boys, or a boy and a girl in there, and I am so excited to get to the point where we can do that. The honest to goodness truth is that I have ZERO inkling about what we have, and we are going to be thrilled with any of the above. It’ll just be so awesome to KNOW!

I hope and pray with my whole heart that these sweet babies continue to be healthy and strong.

In other news, hubs’s brother and his brother’s wife are visiting us this weekend. We are really, really excited to show them around Chicago—they’ve never been here before!! But, oof, I’m zonked just thinking about the weekend of adventures we have planned, beginning with an 11pm comedy show tonight after my latest work night of the week. Ummm, bloggies, I haven’t stayed up past 11pm in MONTHS. How in the heck am I going to last until 1:30-ish in the morning?!?!!? (Seriously.) Should be interesting….

Have a great weekend!

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “16-week appointment

  1. So glad that everything is still going well. I can’t believe you are so close to the big reveal!

  2. Good heavens! So many milestones, and look at ’em all just whizzing by. That’s such wonderful news. I say make your husband take them out to the 11pm show, ’cause otherwise, I bet you’re gonna pass out! Have a fabulous weekend!

  3. Lesley

    Yay!!! Oh, I can’t wait to know the sexes, too. I do hope you share!

    As for being out at 1:30, um, are you crazy?? I second bunny’s suggestion, at least as a backup plan.

  4. Alright! 16 weeks and going strong. So exciting! Yeah, staying up past midnight? Good luck with that! Have a great time with your family but don’t over do it, you need to stay healthy for those sweet little ones 🙂

  5. Oooh! SO much fun! I really felt like my pregnancy was REAL after I found out the sex. Are they going to share a room? I spent copious hours researching nursery decorations…so when you get that process started, let me know and I’ll recommend some sites!

  6. AL

    Congrats on 16 weeks, that is so firmly in the second tri!

    Can’t wait to hear what you’re having!!! {Though I don’t plan to find out what we’re having, is that weird??} If it’s another set of girl twins in our group, I will be amazed! I’m guessing two boys for you! So exciting!!

  7. Glad things are going well. Eat lots of natural things with high sugar like mango? Good luck!

  8. Oh, 16 weeks is HUGE, Egg!! And I absolutely adore how much you adore your twinsies. I can’t wait to find out what they are–I’m still voting on two boys, though I can’t give you any clear reason why. Just an inkling. (Watch it be two girls! LOL.) xo

  9. So great that everything looks fine!
    And you’ll have a wonderful excuse if you fall asleep in the middle of a show 😉

  10. Kelly

    I’m glad the babies are doing well!

    Dude, I totally hear you about staying up past 11:00. Whenever we make weekend plans that sound like they may go past my bedtime, I’m always fretting about it for days. How will I stay awake?!

    Good luck!

  11. I’m so glad things are going well. I love boring pregnancy updates because that means that everything is good in there. I cannot wait to find out what you are having, too. I have a couple of bloggies with twin pregnancies and one had one of each and the other has 2 girls so I’m curious to see if you will be 2 boys…just to round out my reading of course. 🙂 I’m so OCD.

    And the poem that your DH wrote made me cry. He’s a very good egg, indeed.

  12. Tarah

    Yea!! I’m so glad things are still going so perfectly.

    As for waking up on your back – you’ll want to double check with your doctor but I had this problem too. My doctor told me a few things.

    1. If you want, put a pillow or a wedge behind you when you’re on your side, that way if you roll over you’re on an angle. She said as long as you’re not flat on your back, you’re OK.

    2. If you wake up on your back, just roll over on your side and don’t worry about it.

    3. If your husband wakes up and finds you on your back let him know he doesn’t need to wake you up, your body will do that itself.

    I actually woke up the other night from some pressure and found myself on my back, I just rolled over to my side and all was well.

    Anyway – I’ve rambled on long enough – cannot wait to hear the gender reveal! I’m so excited for you!

  13. Oh, I love all this about your growing babies. Good luck with staying up late! I SUCK at that lately too.

  14. FCblacksheep

    Yay on a great appointment! I can’t wait to hear the gender. I think a boy and a girl or two boys; the point being, I think there’s a boy in boy there; I have a feeling. Have fun this weekend.

  15. Yay for good twinsie news! Makes my day 🙂 And I’m voting for one of each.

  16. Mara

    Yay on a great appointment! That’s fabulous news!!

    And good luck with the staying up late thing. When I was in my friend’s wedding a few months ago, I had a terrible time staying up until 11 (when I left – early). My normal bedtime is the crack of 8:30pm. Holla!

    Both Erin and A had/are having girls – I’m guessing you’ll even things out and have two boys. But I don’t have a very good track record in guessing genders. 🙂

  17. Yay for healthy babies!! Any feelings about what the babes might be? Any preference?

    Boring updates are the best – you wouldn’t really want it any other way!

    I hope you managed to enjoy your weekend and not be too exhausted! I so love Chicago and I’m sure your family did too!

  18. yay! everyone is doing great!

    you have 2 two-week waits! i hope they both fly by. i’m so excited that soon you’ll learn the genders!

    hope this weekend wasn’t too much for you!

  19. Congrats on such a great appointment. I cannot WAIT to find out what you have in there 🙂

    At long last, your appointment drought is over. Now you’ll feel like you’re going all the time!

Leave a Reply

