Blogiversary + an awesome new bloggie

I started my blog a year and two weeks ago. (What!? How did that happen?! Crazy.) I never ever would’ve dreamed that I would be a “blogger,” but as I got deeper into this IF mess, I found myself finding so much information and solace on blogs I’d discover through Google, or via other blogs, that I started to see the benefits of having a place to share my own thoughts and fears. Plus, I began leaving the world’s longest comments (no joke) and realized I had a lot more to say than I realized.

Blogging has been wonderful to me. Through it I have been able to vent, share, commiserate and learn so much. It has given me a place to articulate my darkest fears and my brightest dreams. It has allowed me to record everything I’ve learned along the way. It has made me feel so much less lonely. There is nothing like a thoughtful comment in my inbox to pick me up on a tough day. (Thank you for all of them, I treasure them.) I honestly don’t know how women endure IF without this support system, it has been so huge in my life.

But blogging has evolved since we found we were pregnant in August. It just doesn’t feel right to go on and on about pregnancy stuff all the time when so many of my bloggie friends are still stuck in the trenches, fighting the good fight. Even talking about the anxiety of pregnancy feels insensitive, because I know that all a TTCer wants is to be pregnant, anxiety and all thankyouverymuch. I know this because I have been that person for much longer than I have been anything else. I think about you guys all the time, and want you to make it out of the IF purgatory with my entire heart. I know it must be hard to come and visit my space….I know this because some days (weeks, months) it was too heart-wrenching for me to visit my pregnant friends’ blogs while I was still riding the bench with yet another cystie, or doing more follow-up RE consults, or bemoaning Clomid, or pretty much constantly fearing that this would never ever ever work for me, oh no, I would never be so fortunate as those freaking lucky pregnant bloggers. I mean, I left Twitter because I couldn’t deal with the pregnancy 24-7 updates. Of course I never begrudged them their success in getting pregnant, it’s just that I wanted it so very very very badly for hubs and me, too, and sometimes that hurt feels too heavy to bear. I have not forgotten, and I never ever will.

The other ridiculously cool thing about starting this blog is that I have made some awesome friends online and in town because of it—that’s a whole other post in itself—but as I’m having this reflective moment (haha), I wanted to mention a new IF blogger you should visit, Mrs. Brightside. Mrs. B lives in Chicago and I met her during weekly IF mind-body meditation classes at Pulling Down the Moon over the summer. At our first class together we were both pretty much sobbing during the pre-meditation “sharing” portion of the class and went through half a box of Kleenex between the two of us…..it’s amazing what a class like that (and an awesome instructor) can release in you. Something just clicked between the two of us and we stood outside for eons afterward, sharing our stories and commiserating….and we’ve pretty much never stopped. In fact, I felt so safe and comfortable with her that I even shared my blog’s address—something I have never done with anyone else in real life (besides hubs of course). She has become a dear friend in this journey and I know everyone will welcome her into the blogging world as she has just taken the plunge with her very first post!

In other news, I miraculously survived some crazy-late nights this past weekend and didn’t get TOO cranky. Hubs and I have no visitors and no trips planned until Thanksgiving and I am so excited to be at home in a more mellow state for a while. There’s no place like home! 🙂

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “Blogiversary + an awesome new bloggie

  1. Congrats on hitting a year of blogging – that’s quite the milestone!!

  2. Happy blogoversary! Here’s to an exciting year two in blogging for you. 🙂

  3. finch

    I totally agree with everything you said about this IF and beyond community. It is pure gold. I think it is so important to support one another here – through anxiety-ridden pregnancies and crazy first weeks with babies as well as the infertility parts. I love reading your updates and don’t ever hesitate to vent or worry when you need to. xxxooo

  4. I seriously don’t think I’d be pregnant right now if it weren’t for all the support/advice/love I’ve received from the blogging community. Before blogging I was so naive, so scared and so unsure about everything. I am so thankful for my blog every day!

    I know your blog friends treasure your posts and although the ones still struggling may find it difficult to always check in, I know they still care and wish you the very, very best.

  5. AL

    Happy blogoversary! I’m so glad you started blogging and I’ve gotten to know you through your blog. You’ve been such a great support 🙂

  6. I’m so glad this anniversary finds you all knocked up! I certainly sympathize with the awkward and distressing parts of the I’m-pregnant-now evolution. But I know I loved following people’s journeys from first positive test to real live baby, and I want to follow your journey, too, whatever’s going on in my own uterus.

  7. Kelly

    I completely agree with Bunny. We’ve been following all the downs and now it’s time to follow the UP’s! I wouldn’t miss it.

    I also couldn’t get through this shit without all of the stories and commiserating with you awesome ladies.

  8. Oh, Egg, now you’ve done it! I’m hiding at my desk with tears streaming down my face, first from your kind post, and then from checking my blog and seeing all the kind comments. I remember well that first night at PDTM! Those early attempts at sharing with a group and meditating, all I could do was cry. But then I discovered this amazing companionship in others going through the same thing, after having become so lonely and isolated. Your friendship has been such a blessing — I seriously don’t know how I could have gotten through these last few months without you. I appreciate you so much, and am so so happy for you and your hubs and your BABIES!!!

  9. happy birthday to your blog! blogging is great, huh? i also don’t know what i would have done with out it and the IF community. and hey – don’t worry about my feelings. i might still be on the other side, but i plan to join you very, very soon. 🙂

    p.s. i left you a cute lil award on my blog. thanks for all of your support! xo!

  10. Happy blog-aversary. While I may not comment on every blog entry, just know that I do read all your entries and cheer you on. Thanks for keeping up with me as well.

  11. sienna

    Happy blogoversary egg!! I honestly dpnt think I coulda made it without all my IF blogging buddies. There were so many points where I didn’t think I could keep going. I’m soooo glad that this anniversary finds you in different circumstances than when you started – Knocked up with not one, but two little ones!!! Take it super duper easy the next few weeks and enjoy ur blissful state. Xoxoxoxo!!

  12. Oh Egg, you are so dear. Happy blogiversary to you. It makes me glad to read about you and the twinsies. I am so happy those babies are doing well. You’re an amazing friend to all of us still out here, and you know we want to follow this journey of yours to the incredibly happy ending.

  13. Tarah

    Happy blogiversary to you! I really enjoy reading about your progress and happiness. I so glad you’ve reached this milestone and I can hear your glowing through all of your posts!

  14. Congrats on the bloggie-versary! Woot woot! I’ll definitely be checking out your friend’s blog. If you like her, I know I will, too :). xo

  15. What a great post. You were able to articulate everything I feel about blogging. As a new blogger myself I have already found such comfort in the process and the connections I have made. I will definitely stop by Mrs. Brightside’s blog. Thank you.

  16. Happy bloggie-versary egg!! What a difference a year makes, huh! Its really hard to believe, but its been amazing to watch your journey and meet you in both bloggy and real life world :)!!

  17. Mara

    Happy blogiversary! I’m super excited to have found your blog and am so happy and excited for you. 🙂

  18. Wow, a year of blogging…and you’ve come such a long way! I really appreciate what you’ve written here and I’m with you–I don’t know how anyone gets through this without blog-friends!

Leave a Reply

