Maybe?

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!!!

We visited my family over the holiday weekend. My older brother and his wife couldn’t be there because of work, but it was great to see my parents and little brother and sister. Hubs and I split the holidays between our fams, alternating who we visit at Christmas and Thanksgiving every year. I know my Mom is reallllllllllllllllllllllllllllllly sad we won’t be flying home for Christmas….and that manifests itself as intense guilt in me. But beyond little comments here and there bemoaning missing us already at Christmas, we had a wonderful weekend.

Early on Thanksgiving morning, I braved a 16-degree, windy morning for a 5K Turkey Trot with my Dad, sister, brother and hubs. I shuffled the entire thing! Usually I’m out in front of my family, but this year I was the caboose. 🙂 Totally fine by me, I was happy in my snail slow pace. It has been getting uncomfortable to jog/shuffle….I think I am just getting too large. So that was probably my last “run.” From now on, it’s going to be swims, yoga and maybe the ellip and light weights. All of it super EZ, of course. A tiny dose of exercise a few times a week keeps me sane!

After the Trot we began cooking the Thanksgiving meal. Fun fun fun!!! (Even though I totally ruined my dish—what should’ve been a delish sweet potato hash—by over-salting it. I would’ve been cut in a second if it was an ep of Top Chef. So JV!) Later that afternoon I relaxed for a loooong time on the couch to watch football with my sibs and hubs. A couple of times, I thought I felt a very very gentle “bump” in my lower left stomach region. Not bubbles or flutters or tickling or kicking, but a so-subtle-I-could’ve-imagined-it bump. It made me so happy! I willed it to happen again and again. Since then, I THINK I’ve felt it a couple of times….usually on my lower left but also right by my belly button.

I have no idea where the babies are located in my tum, but I sooooooo hope this is them, beginning to make themselves known. It’s not kicking or crazy movement or anything close….it’s MAYBE MAYBE MAYBE something.

I also realized that I’m never sitting for an extended amount of time or laying around unless it’s bedtime. At work, I’m “officially” at a desk-job, but the reality is that I’m on my feet walking somewhere and doing something away from my desk every few minutes. And then I come home and cook or clean or whatev….I finally relax after dinner in front of the TV…and my then I’m so tired that I usually scoot into bed and promptly fall asleep within a few minutes.

SO. The point is….it’s hard to find long spells of quiet where I can replicate my lazy Thanksgiving afternoon during which the babies MAYBE moved. Or maybe I didn’t really feel them move. It could very well be that I want this so badly that I’m imagining things. But I would really really really love to feel more of it. 🙂 It would so help soothe my anxiety!

ANYWAY! Tomorrow will be 20 weeks. And it’s T-minus seven days until our big anatomy scan. I am thankful for so so so so much this year, but mostly these babies, who hubs and I cannot wait to share our lives with. We love them so very very very much. And I pray and hope with everything in me that these babies are growing and healthy and strong and that everything is okay.

I will leave you with our first purchase for them. We saw these Dr. Seuss jammies discounted on the baby-deals site Zulily.com earlier this month and couldn’t resist. 🙂

18 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

18 responses to “Maybe?

  1. Oh.my.cuteness. Love the jammies! My brother’s twins had Thing 1/Thing 2 outfits, too – the older would be 1, younger 2. Sounds like a great Thanksgiving, mom (aka grandma-to-be) guilt aside. And how very very exciting to hear about a bump! C’mon babies, get movin in there! I can’t believe is already (only?) 20 weeks – another big milestone that you are about to dust. Yay for the babies!

  2. finch

    Oh, the family holiday guilt! We’re definitely feeling it this year with baby’s first Christmas and all!

    I love that you felt some bumps. Personally, I think it was your babies and that maybe will soon become a wonderfully reassuring definitely.

  3. The cuteness of the jammies is almost too much to take. What a perfect first purchase!! I’m very impressed by your Turkey Day 5k shuffle – every little but of exercise helps the sanity level. I was able to get in a 3-miler the day after Thanksgiving and it felt amazing.

    I can’t wait to hear about the 20-week scan – how exciting. I’m sure by then they’ll be moving all over the place in your belly. They’re just easing their way into it:)

  4. Lesley

    I’m glad you had such a nice, relaxing Thanksgiving (and am very impressed that you jogged 5k in 16 degree weather at 20 weeks!!). Love the jammies.

  5. Isn’t holiday guilt the worst! As if you really wouldn’t choose to be there if you could…so frustrating. It’s sad enough not being there, but the guilt on top of it just makes it 10 times worse. I was away for Christmas last year from my family and it was so difficult. We decided to start a few traditions of our own so that no matter where we are it will always kind of have that “home for the holiday’s” feel.

    I so hope you get a big kick from the babes this week! I suspect you’ll be glad that they have such a laid back nature in about a year or so. 🙂

  6. Yuck. I hate that whole “dividing holidays” thing. We have to do it, too, but luckily our families live right down the road (sometimes we get everyone together, but that can get overwhelming).

    I can’t believe you are almost at the midway point!

  7. I bet the family guilt will just get crazier once the twins arrive. But hopefully people will also be willing to come to you then! Happy 20 weeks. That’s pretty amazing. And I hope you get a nice solid bump today!

  8. OMG, those jammies. You’re killing me with this. I can’t even.

  9. You are definitely feeling the babies. Definitely. And I never feel them during the day. Only in the morning and and night when I’m lying in bed. I also think I feel them more when I have an empty stomach (i.e. before I get up in the morning). Soooooo exciting!!!!

    Glad you had a great Thanksgiving and I am giving you MAJOR props for running the 5k. Go Egg!

  10. Kelly

    Happy 20 weeks! I’m so looking forward to your anatomy scan.

  11. Oh those jammies are A-DORABLE! LOVE them!! And how I heart that you’re 20 weeks! Holy shit! TWENTY WEEKS! You’re halfway there. Hell, more than halfway there b/c you’re carrying twinsies! I’m so, so happy for you, Egg. What a wonderful milestone! xo

  12. cw

    h0w cute are the pj’s!! i understand the difficulty too for xmas swaps. Chippies parents live 3 hours away and my parents only 1 hour away. We decided early on that we have to alternate except this year we have new babies on both sides and the guilt is enormous!! maybe you can make your mama feel better by asking her to come to see you to help you do stuff for the babies? nothing says i love you mum by asking for her help -especially when it comes to babies! are you going to find out the sex??

  13. Yay for the bumps! Soon you’ll be feeling them regularly. I love reading about your progress!

  14. sienna

    i’m amazed that you’re still running!!! yaay for a great thanksgiving with fam fam. i’m in love with those jammies that you got for the twins. sooo adorable!! you find out the sex of the little ones at the next dr’s appt, right? soo freaking exciting! xoxoxoxo.

  15. AL

    I love, love love the jammies!! So cute!!

    can’t wait to hear the genders, excited for you.

    Happy thanksgiving 🙂

  16. FCblacksheep

    Glad you had a nice thanksgiving! Woo hoo on feeling those sweet babies move. I can’t wait until they start kicking up a storm. The PJs are soooo cute.

  17. LOVE the jammies. So cute! And, I can’t believe you are still running/shuffling! I think I threw in the towel months ago! Good for you. HORRAY for 20 weeks. I never feel any movement unless I’m totally relaxed and vegging out. That HAS to be your babies. Especially since you said you are always “mobile”.
    AHHH so excited for you to find out the sex! I’m thinking one of each. =)

  18. That sounds like a lovely Thanksgiving, apart from the mom/Christmas guilt. I hope she understands that you want to split your time between the families — we don’t have Thanksgiving over here, just Christmas, so I find it even more difficult to deal with the guilt of not seeing one of the families (at least not right on the holidays, we usually go to visit the other part a few days later).

Leave a Reply

