25-ish weeks

According to my IUI date, which was a Friday, I am 24 weeks and 6 days pregnant. But after my first OB appt placed the babies a few days ahead (size-wise), I have sorta gotten into the habit of counting Tuesday as the day the week changes. It’s like a half-birthday…and then every Friday is the REAL birthday. Confusing I know. But the upshot is that I am almost 25 weeks.

Yesterday was my first growth scan. Since I feel the babies moving every day—some days a lot more than others, and never the crazy activity I read about in some blogs, but definite movement that I can see thru my tummy at times!—I did not totally freak out before this appointment. (Thank you, babies!! Keep moving as much as you want! I love it and find it IMMENSELY comforting!!!) But I admit that AplusB’s recent L&D scare had me scribbling down pre-term labor-ish Qs for Dr. Zen’s partner.

The babies are looking good! Baby A (the boy) is at 1 pound 10 ounces and Baby B (the girl) is at 1 pound and 11 ounces. She has had a little growth spurt to move ahead of her brother—I think she’s loving the recipes we’ve been cooking up from the Julia Child’s cookbook hubs got me for Christmas. 🙂 Speaking of delicious food, I gained one pound in 2.5 weeks (which was kinda nice after gaining 5 pounds in 2 weeks at my last appointment—it had to be 90% egg nog!!). I’m at 20 pounds so far. Keeping growing big and strong and healthy sweet little babies!!!!!

I asked the OB what the heck contractions feel like and do I need to be worried about pre-term labor. So, basically, as I understand it, innocuous Braxton Hicks contractions just feel like your tum is tensing and then releasing. She said I’ve probably experienced them a fair amount by now. Ummm, not sure, should I know for sure? I do get a tensed-tummy feeling after sex (sorry for TMI), which sounds like BH, but I don’t ***think*** I’ve gotten them any other time. I don’t know, I’ll keep an eye out. She said the contrax they worry about at this point occur more than four times in an hour and usually feel like menstrual cramps. I have not felt any of those and am hoping and praying that I will continue to steer clear of them.

We talked about the fFN test, which some clinics seem to give to twin patients starting about now (according to my blog reading): basically this test measures a protein that can signal or not signal that labor may or may not be happening in the next 2 weeks. My chillaxed clinic doesn’t use the fFN. Like, ever, even if you have weird pre-term laborish symptoms. Ditto for bedrest, except in super-extreme cases—they just don’t believe it stops pre-term labor. And I can continue my swims and ellip sessions as long as I feel up to it. My clinic = so mellow! It’s good for me. (You know, zen zen zen zen.)

A word on the exercise. I don’t know if it’s because I got SO SPOILED over the holidays with sleeping-in and daily naps or what, but now that I’m back at work and back to reality (blah! work!), I’m feeling more zonked than ever and am not really “working out” except on weekend days. (I did manage to do some light weight-lifting/calisthenics in front of the Today Show before work this morning. Ha!)

Other stuff: I get breathless walking up a flight of stairs. I make little grunts when I pull on my undies thanks to my big belly (and I love that belly!). I’ve strained my groin muscle from chronically swinging my legs and belly over my Snoogle at least three times a night when I wake up to pee and contemplate the state of the world/my job/work deadlines/the babies/etc. My constie-ness is back (though not nearly as severe as it was at the beginning). I come home from work and just chill on my bed until it’s time to make dinner (or to watch hubs make it).

I say all of this so that it’s clear that I’m definitely not running around like the Energizer Bunny or anything. But, all of that said, I feel pretty freaking great (and, of course, so lucky to be where I am right now) and I sorta keep waiting for the other shoe to drop…..if that makes any sense.

At the end of the appointment, the doctor said, “Things can change quickly, so keep us posted if you have any concerns. But, it’s okay to feel good!

So I’m just going to ride this honeymoon period as long as it lasts. 🙂

20 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

20 responses to “25-ish weeks

  1. I love reading about all the day to day changes that go on with a prego like yourself…thank you for indulging me.

    Your clinic sounds awesome and you sound very zen I might add. Enjoy every second of it!

  2. Sounds good! You sound about the same as me on many fronts. Glad you are well.

  3. Yay for 25-ish weeks! Woot woot! I already told you this, but you are just one of the most adorable preggos I’ve seen! And with twins! 🙂 I’m happy to hear everything is A-OK and that things are going so smoothly for you. xo

  4. Ride that feeling, cowgirl! It sounds like all is quiet on the midwestern front.

  5. Tarah

    You know what is strange? I felt a few BH’s when I was smaller – now…I have no idea if I just moved wrong or if it’s a BH. I figure when it’s the real deal my body will be sure to let me know. I gained a lot of weight in 2 weeks as well, it’s the darn holidays and all the goodies around. Hopefully I won’t be adding too much more weight to my chart next week.

    I’m glad to hear things are going so well with you & the babies! Love the zen attitude too!

  6. Ok, so I know that you’re not a picture poster, but I’m dying for a belly shot. Pretty please?! Will you post one if I beg? Or e-mail one to me? I just need to see that beautiful twinsy baby belly. 🙂

  7. So happy you and the babies are doing great! Where is that belly shot?
    xoxo

  8. Lesley

    Sounds great!!! I am at 36 weeks, and still have not felt any BH’s… so, who knows. Also, I recently read the blog of someone who got the protein test, it came back negative, and she ended up having the baby that day. So much for accuracy there!

    Twins must be a whole other scary layer of all this– I can only imagine– especially if you feel movement, but you don’t know if they are BOTH ok in there. It sounds stressful, but you seem to be doing amazing with your zen attitude. And everything IS going great– it’s wonderful.

  9. My terrible secret is that I love it when you’re as lazy …okay, almost as lazy…as I am. So keep not working out so I can pretend I’m normal. Sounds like everything is going super great. YAY!

  10. AL

    I’ve been lazier since the holidays, too, it’s been hard to get back into my routine for some reason. (i’m blaming this cold….)

    25 weeks – awesome! Would love to see a pic!!

  11. Sienna

    Heehee, ive almost-injured myself in the middle of the night bc of my snoogle as well. Now, i lift it to go under to get out of the bed. Otw, im practically doing a split trying to crawl over it 3x’s a night. Glad that ur not overdoing things and all is going well!! When is ur official due date – end of marchish? Xoxo

  12. glad to hear you are still feeling good! yeah BH is just belly getting rock hard like post-sex. i’m like the only person who doesn’t like the snoogle. maybe i am too short for it? it really hurts my neck too

  13. Hoping that the other shoe never drops! Glad to hear everything is going well 🙂 (and haha @ the eggnog comment!)

  14. Yay for 25 weeks!! I love that you are feeling good, and can “hear” in your voice that you are feeling more relaxed and comfortable with your pregnancy, which just makes me so happy for you. You’ve logged enough worry to last a lifetime, you’ve certainly earned a little peace. Keep up the zen zen zen, and know that you are taking great care of your babies! xo

  15. So glad that things are going so well for you so far. That is great. That is kinda cool that your place doesn’t do bed rest or anything like that. Take it easy and enjoy it 😉

  16. Can you please send me some of the zen from your clinic? Not that mine isn’t zen, but personally I could use some! It sounds like things are moving right along and you’re taking it all in stride. Enjoy every minute of it:)

  17. This all sounds so good good good. You are cooking right along! I’m so glad you are feeling a little zen and relaxed these days. It’s wonderful, after all the stress and anxiety you suffered.

  18. Happy 25-ish weeks! I’m sorry if my recent scare affected you…you are FINE and so are your babies! I kind of wonder what would have happened if I didn’t go to the hospital that night…the contrax never hurt, they were just 4x’s an hour (much more frequent I later learned!). Anyway, I already told you this, but trust your gut. You’ll know if something is out of the ordinary!

    I had to laugh at the grunting and groin injury because that is EXACTLY what’s happened to me. My inner thigh aches from constantly using it as leverage to heave myself over at night! And B laughs at me as I put my socks on, pants, undies, etc. because of the grunting! I’ve now started asking him to put my socks on for me 🙂

    Stay Zen my friend, you’re doing great!

  19. finch

    I love that your babies are moving so much, keeping mommy happy and relaxed! Enjoy the laziness and let your hubs do all the cooking!!

  20. CONGRATS on the 25 week milestone and getting to see those little ones again! That is so wonderful and it’s great that the babies are so active. I say enjoy this time of “laziness” as much as possible – it’s sure to end for a long while! Once those babies are out you’ll be getting all the workout in the world!!!

Leave a Reply

