Quickie update

Hi bloggies! Thank you so much for the beautiful messages on my last post. 🙂 I started a birth story post while I was in the hospital, so that’s coming soon. In the meantime, here’s a quick update filled with tons of randomness….

  • I did a vaginal birth for both babies. It was fast and furious (details to come). I always wondered which was harder/more painful, labor or a marathon. The answer? LABOR!
  • The babies were born teenie tiny (4 pounds 11 ounces and 4 pounds 10 ounces)—despite my intense efforts to eat tons of protein, milkshakes, burgers, Sheperd’s Pie, etc etc etc, throughout pregnancy—but super healthy. From birth, their breathing and suck/swallow reflexes = perfect.
  • Because they are tiny champs and we are insanely lucky, they never had to go to the NICU! We spent Monday, Tuesday and part of Wednesday cuddling them, staring at them, taking pictures of them, and feeding them in our hospital room.
  • I am in love, love, LOVE with these sweet little babies. Just thinking about them makes my heart almost burst with love. We are so blessed!
  • Char.lie developed borderline jaundice on our last day in the hospital. His levels stabilized with some phototherapy so he was cleared to go home with at-home bili blanket. We soooo miss cuddling with him and getting skin-to-skin QT whenever we feel like it, but it’s for his own good!
  • I never ever imagined we’d get to bring both babies home with us. But the four of us left the hospital on Wednesday evening. I was shaking I was so happy. It makes me teary thinking about it now!
  • We had our first pediatrician appointment yesterday morning. We loooove our doctor, she had awesome feeding tips for us and was very efficient and thorough.
  • Unfort, Char.lie’s bili levels went up a bit. So hubs is taking him back for another blood test today. If his bilirubin level rises again, he’ll probably have to be readmitted to the hospital for more intense phototherapy. We would miss him so much! But we really want to nix this jaundice thing, so whatever is best for him.
  • I think my milk is starting to come in (yay body!!!!!), and I am so happy that I can start giving them breast milk in lieu of formula for some feeds. The babies haven’t been able to breast feed more than 5 minutes at a time. Because it, a) burns too many calories to eat that way, and, b) because tiny amounts of colostrum/early breast milk won’t do them any weight gain favors at this point—they’re so little that they cannot tolerate losing weight like most term babies can.
  • Lu.cy sleeps like a rock in between feeds during the day. Because she is seriously NOCTURNAL! Come nighttime (her witching hour is about 10pm), she is inconsolable unless she’s in our arms. It’s absolutely adorable and wonderful to placate her with serious snuggle time, but it means we haven’t had much luck catching Zzzs.
  • I’ve only slept a few hours since we got home on Wednesday. I’m going on pure love and adrenaline. I have never ever ever been happier than I am right now. We love our sweet little babies so so so much!
26 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

26 responses to “Quickie update

  1. I need pictures!!!!!

    I am so amazed and happy that Charlie and Lucy are doing so well and are home with you! That’s incredible. What joy you must feel right now. You did good, mama!

  2. So awesome to read such a wonderful update! I hope Charlie’s levels are good enough not to have to be readmitted!

  3. so glad things are going well for you! I can’t wait to see pics of the babes. our son had high levels of jaundice as well and had to be re-admitted after a couple days at home – it was so hard but it will be over soon! I hope you get get some shut-eye sometime soon! You sound so in love with your little miracles 🙂

  4. I can’t wait for the birth story! I can’t believe the vaginal births for both and no NICU – just awesome! I’m so happy everything is going well and I know Charlie will kick that jaundice.

  5. sienna

    omg, i’m soo thrilled for you that you got to take both babies home with you! are you guys getting any help at all, or is it just you and hubs? i can’t imagine how exhausted you are, but know you’re loving every minute of mommyhood so far. fingers crossed for charlie’s jaundice to go away :o) yes, more pics pls!! xoxo.

  6. after my second marathon, i bet my mother in law that it hurts more to run a marathon, and now you are telling me i will be proven wrong?!?!? 😉 congrats mama, it looks like everyone is doing great!

  7. I’m with Slopie– Need more pics!!!

    We’re all so happy for you, Egg… I can’t wait to hear your birth story! You are the first twin mama I know to do a vaginal delivery. YOU’RE A ROCKSTAR!!

    Much love to the 4 of you! XOXO!

  8. Completely amazing. AMAZING! Vaginal birth AND no NICU time! I am so happy for you guys, and hoping it gets better and easier from here on.

  9. Fantastic!!! I am so, so, so happy that your babies are SO healthy and you completely bypassed the NICU! Hope you’re settling in at home and are able to catch a bit more sleep in the coming days. But, yes, the sleep deprivation with twins is crazy…and wonderful at the same time. Congrats dear friend!

  10. Lesley

    So amazing– I feel the love oozing out of this post. And I well remember the adrenaline and exhilaration of those first couple of weeks. It is magical and overwhelming. I imagine doubly so, with twins!

    I hope Charlie doesn’t have to go back to the hospital, but I am SO HAPPY that everyone is so healthy and strong.

  11. charandjesse

    My heart is so full for you and your tiny champs! Go team Egg, go!!

  12. Wow! This is all wonderful to hear!!!

  13. Chon

    Oh slightly stalkerish but I was thinking of you and your babies this morning. So rapt to hear how they are going!u

  14. Seriously, this makes my heart melt, Egg! So, so happy for you. Can’t believe the babes are here still! Xoxo

  15. JC

    I’m so so so happy for you!!!!!!! I can’t wait to hear more and see some pics!!! I’m so glad they are perfectly healthy and you are doing well! =)

  16. i hate always being on the clock…good thing i type fast! omg congratulations on your sweet take home babies!!! one of ours had to go under the lights too. their poor little heels have all these scars. i’m running on 100% adrenaline as well. ahhh congratulations again babies babies babies ❤ ❤

  17. Tio

    What amazing little babies. They are stars!

  18. FCblacksheep

    That all sounds wonderful. I’m so, so happy the babies got to come home with you. I hope Charlie doesn’t have to go to the hospital, but as you said whatever is best for his health. I’m ecstatic for you all.

    And, I was thinking that birth had to be quick, because next thing I knew you were a mommy. Can’t wait to hear the full story.

  19. I cannot wait to hear your birth story! Sounds like everyone is doing great and settling in. Have fun!

  20. Jeanna

    Just a reminder to stay zen about the jaundice thing! It will seem much scarier than it is when you are in the middle of it. It will go down soon! My son (now 3 weeks old) did the jaundice thing, too. He was at a 10 when we left the hospital, then 13 the next day when we had to re-check, then 15 the next day at check. I just knew that would be his peak and would get better the next day (he finally started having bm on the day before). But then he hit 19 the next day and I was flipping out. Even though I KNEW this was common and not a big deal, when it was my baby I was terrified that his levels kept going up. Then, the next day (I guess day 7?) he dropped down to 13. Just remember… the # will go down even if it takes a day or two!! Congrats on those amazing babies!!!

  21. No NICU stay???? You are AMAZING. Seriously, Charlie and Lucy are so lucky to have such a wonderful mom. I cannot wait until we can all have little twinlet playdates!

  22. That is so awesome. You Rock! My daughter had jaundice and i remember bawling my eyes out when I realized she had to be in the baby tanning bed at all times unless I was feeding her. But it passed quickly.

    So glad all is well and you are home. Yay on the vaginal birth as well, I cant wait to hear your story.

  23. SO wonderful! My warmest congratulations! I can’t wait to hear more about your little lovies.

  24. I love how substantial even your “quickie” posts are 🙂 Much love to all of you!

  25. I am so damn happy to read all of this. Congrats again to you, my dear.

  26. Heidi

    your happiness is contagious!!! love hearing about the munchkins and it’s getting me so excited for mine to arrive in June!!! congrats–all the prayers worked!

Leave a Reply

