One month old!

The babies are four weeks and 3 days old!!!!!!!! We took them to their one-month check-up this morning. It’s crazy thinking back on making the first trip to the ped exactly one month ago. I was so exhausted (I still am), the car seats felt so heavy (they still do)….but everything else felt more manageable today. I still have no clue what I’m doing 99% of the time, but I feel muuuuuuch more comfortable toting them around and it doesn’t take nearly as long to get out of the house. The appointment was great, all of the babies’ hard work at feedings was reflected on the scale. (YIP!) We have two butterballs (hahaha) weighing in at a whopping 6 pounds 11 ounces (Char.lie, he gained 1.5 pounds in 2 weeks) and 6 pounds 2 ounces (Lu.cy, she gained 17 ounces in 2 weeks…and it seems to be allllll belly, haha, sweet sweet girl). Great job, babies!

Lu.cy has some serious gas or possibly reflux issues that I will address in another post, after trying out a couple of fixes the ped recommended. The good news is that she’s not crying 24-7, she’s just grunting/groaning/semi-wailing most of the time (unless she’s eating or cuddled onto my chest). Poor little thing. I feel so bad for her that she’s so uncomfortable. And I feel so lucky that Char.lie is currently quite mellow in the digestion department (no jinxies!!). We are so incredibly happy and also so very very grateful for these sweet sweet babies: Along with hubs, they are the lights of my life. 🙂

Okay, here’s a little glossary of the terminology being thrown around in our house lately…

Last chance feeding – The feeds on the morning of any ped appointment, when we encourage the babies to really really really suck down that yummy breast milk to tip the scale a tad higher at the weigh-in. A la “last chance workouts” on The Biggest Loser…except with the opposite goal.

Piranha – A strong latch on the boob. When I’ve got a baby on me, if hubs is in room, he’ll look over and ask, “Piranha?” Also can be a verb if the sucking is especially vigorous, as in, “Oh my gosh, he’s really piranhaing me right now!”

Cookie monster – A very hungry baby. Also can be a verb, as in, “is she Cookie Monstering?” if the baby is rooting around like crazy.

Magical forest – Their play mat. It has cute little animals hanging all over it. We like to do tummy time on the mat and we also put them in their Boppys so they can reach for/observe the forest creatures up close.

Spa day a.k.a. bath time. We still do sponge baths on the changing table with the babies, even though their umbilical cord stumps fell off weeks ago. They, umm, don’t really enjoy being cold or naked, so we turn on the sound machine to rainforest or ocean sounds and regale them with stories about the luxe spa treatment they are getting. 🙂

Current most-used nicknames for Char.lie: Chaz Ma Taz, Bright Eyes, Butterball, CW, C-Man

Current most-used nicknames for Lu.cy: Lucy Pie, Luce Ma Goose, Honey, Baby Doll, Lucy Lou

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “One month old!

  1. Lesley

    I love the nicknames! They are so, so sweet…

  2. ltb

    sounds like they are doing great! soooo adorable! I love me a piranha latch!!!

  3. if I have a boy I want to name him charlie just so I can call him chaz ma taz! TOO CUTE! 🙂 grow babies grow!

  4. Angie

    Please do tell about the gas or reflux issues as our 3 week old is possibly having the same problems. Will not sleep anywhere but on our arms or chest and crys in pain after eating until he toots or poops! We have not gotten a lot of help from our pede yet. Thanks

  5. charandjesse

    I hate getting free advice, but I love giving it :). That said, gripe water worked like gang busters on our grunty babes. All natural, pure good stuff, huzzah!

    When our babes are super hungry I generally compare them to psychotic sharks, but piranha seems like the perfect analogy.

    They’re perfectly beautiful!! You’re such a great Mama!

  6. Sweet little babies! Happy 1 month birthday, Ch.arlie and L.ucy! They look like they love each other so much in that pic. I’m glad the little piranhas are putting on some nice chub 🙂

  7. Ah, such sweet babes!!! Glad to hear things are going so well. How could you know what to do all the time??? I don’t think that is possible – but I am sure you know a helluva lot more than you realize!

  8. Look at that gorgeous pile of adorable baby! I wonder if Charlie will stay the mellow one or if Lucy will take a turn…

  9. Glad to hear about the added chub! Those are some damn cute babies.

  10. Teejay

    Those babies are so precious. I love all the nick names you have for them. So cute. I’m glad their check up went well, too. Good thoughts coming your way!

  11. AL

    Awesome job, Egg! Those babies are growing so much and chubbing right up!

    I love all the nicknames and the new slang in the egg household. Hope Lucy’s reflux gets better.

    Keep enjoying every minute 🙂

  12. Love the lingo! So cute. You gotta keep it fun with these twinsies…it’s HARD and a lot of work, so these cute sayings between you and hubs are a great way to keep the mood light! Nice job on the weight gain babies!!!!!

    They are so freaking cute! I love them.

  13. Pingback: One month old! | Weight Loss Coach – Jasmin

  14. Happy 1 Month Birthday Char.lie and Lu.cy! Sooooo precious!!! It sound like you are all doing really well. From what I’ve heard the clueless feeling never really goes away so just go with it (that’s my plan of attack, at least – ha!).

  15. FCblacksheep

    Adorable. Congrats on 1 month! Way to go on the weight gain babies. Awesome. Oh and Blue and I were just throwing around names and we both kind of clicked with Charlie. Ha! I totally forgot that was the name of your little one. Who knows if we’ll need it but hope you don’t mind.

  16. SO. ADORABLE.

    Good luck figuring out the reflux/colic/whatever issues with the little lady. I know from experience it can be a rocky road to diagnose those kinds of issues… but the good news is that once you figure it out, she’ll be a happy girl! Also, in the grand scheme of things, the frustrating “I don’t know why she’s crying” phase is relatively short. Thank goodness for that!

  17. I love the terminology. Wes is definitely in the Cookie Monster category most of the time. And all that eating is really paying off – those two are growing like weeds!!!

  18. They are adorable 🙂 So glad to hear everything is going well!

  19. Congrats! I just started blogging and found your blog. It is so encouraging to hear stories like yours with a happy ending!

Leave a Reply

