e.x.h.a.u.s.t.e.d.

Where have I been? I’ve been a busy busy bee with these two cuties. 

We had an AWESOME time at our college reunion last weekend. I’m going to do a whole separate post on traveling with newborns because I learned a ton from our adventure with our 9.5 week old babies. But the short version is: The babies rocked it and I am so so so so so glad that we went. I will treasure the memories forever and it was ridiculously surreal and wonderful to introduce Champ and Honey to our very best friends. Worth the exhaustion, for sure.

When we weren’t introducing our sweet little babies to friends, we were up late drinking beer and catching up with classmates we hadn’t seen in eons. It takes it out of you, drinking, talking for 15 hours a day, pumping (and dumping, blah) in dorm bathrooms….whew!

The morning after we got home, my Mom flew into town. It was her first visit since the babies were born and this one went a million times better. Never really got into that story on my blog, and I’m not going to, but suffice to say that hormones + sleep deprivation + my Mom’s anxiety about our little babies = not a great first visit.

We spent Tuesday shopping with the babies. Out to dinner (WITH THE BABIES) that night. More shopping on Wednesday. Then she watched the babies for us on Wednesday night while we went to a SUPER fancy dinner with some of our best friends from hubs’s graduate program, to celebrate their graduation. It was amazing and sooooo fun. But we got home after midnight and then were up every other hour with the babies. When the day officially begins at around 530am, a really late din takes a toll…

My Mom left Thursday night, then my three siblings arrived the next morning. The next three days were spent grilling out, going to an art fair, hanging in the apartment as a fam, dinner out (WITH THE BABIES!!), etc etc etc. Totally wonderful, but so tiring. Of course when it’s my family I shouldn’t feel pressure to be “on” and entertaining the entire time. But yet, I do. Because I want everyone to have fun, and I want to be a good host and a good daughter/sister, and the babies are up all night and so I just have felt like I’m barely staying afloat and basically it’s just been A LOT. You know?

In the midst of the visitors we were interviewing nannies and I called about a dozen references. Another post (always another post!) in itself. The great news is that (FINGERS CROSSED) we have stumbled upon an amazing woman and as heartbroken as I am about going back to work next month (crrrrrrrrry), I know the babies will be loved and nurtured and safe under the care of this person. Not the best time to be doing a nanny search (while we had visitors) but it had to happen that way as there is a lot of turnover with nannies in our ‘hood right now (professors and grad students leaving and their nannies becoming available) so we had to jump on meeting the best possible candidates.

Final reason for extreme fatigue: Our 11-week-old babies have not graduated beyond sleeping more than 3 hours at a time. Last night, I fed them at midnight, then hubs woke up with to a wailing Champ at 2 something but he wouldn’t eat. Then Honey woke up hungry as Hubs was putting Champ back to bed after changing his dipe, etc. Then Champ woke up hungry another hour later. And so on and so forth. We don’t sleep much. I seriously need half a pot of coffee every morning to make it through the day. Of course I am loving every second of maternity leave, but man, we are in a rough spell.

I’m not complaining. I adore caring for/doting upon/kissing/hugging/loving our beautiful babies and I love being with family and friends. I just need to say to someone besides hubs that I am tired. Like, bone-crushingly, my-stomach-hurts, how-can-I-keep-this-up tired. I treasure these moments with our babies when they are so young and sweet and little and the last thing I want to do is wish this precious time away…and yet I can’t help but dream of the days when they sleep more….

I am reallllllllllllllllllllllllly looking forward to a boring and mellow week on the home-front. Our next big airplane trip is for 4th of July and I think I’ll attempt gathering my strength until then! 🙂

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “e.x.h.a.u.s.t.e.d.

  1. Oh, I’m SO glad you had a great trip!

    I can’t even begin to imagine how tired you must be. I’m always amazed by you. Good luck on hanging in there, babe. I hope you have some mellow weeks with LOTS of rest soon.

  2. ltb

    Wow! So much going on! And I’m actually jealous that you have the courage to do so much of what you have done with the babes! I’ve become quite the schedule nazi and now I’m really restricted in what I can do and when! Nights out pretty much don’t exist because I have to feed the baby (she will NOT take a breast milk bottle if her life depends on it! ) and put her to bed and then by the time she’s down a) we don’t have a sitter and family lives far away, and b) i’m so worried about being tired that I want to go to bed by 11pm at the latest! I had a period of utter exhaustion and i felt so sick so now I’m a total boring mom who just goes to bed early and does nothing. BORING! Hopefully we will get out of this rut soon and find a happy balance between fun and sleep! Hope you find it too!

  3. Such cuties! Love the beachy outfits. Glad to hear you’re getting out and having fun.

  4. Love, love, love the hats you have the babies in!!! I’m a sucker for a baby in a hat. I can’t even begin to imagine the exhaustion you’re feeling with two babies and the schedule (or lack thereof?) that they have you on. I totally understand that every minute of it is worth it, but wow Egg. Kudos to you and Hubs for staying sane:)

  5. Lesley

    Wow! what a schedule! I am totally impressed! How do the babies not cry through dinner out? I’d never try that with P, and she’s nearly 4 months. You must have them on a really good schedule.

  6. I am tired just reading about your busy schedule! I think you should relax (I use that term loosely:) with the babies until the 4th comes around! They are growing so much and are just delicious! xoxo

  7. You are SUCH a rock star! I hope you get at least a couple great restorative nights soon.

  8. I remember those days Egg, they’re hazy memories, but they exist :). Our Twinsies just turned one on Saturday and guess what? We’re still alive. There were moments when we weren’t sure, in fact, there were moments we were sure that we would perish, but, we made it and you guys are going to make it too.

  9. Very busy times, but it sounds like it was worth it. I’m sending psychic sleep messages to your babes: Sleeeeeep, babies. And wake up at the same time!

  10. Oh my goodness, that schedule sounds intense even without twins! I’m so glad everything went well, and SO IMPRESSED that you can take the babies with you so much of the time. I’m betting that takes some crazy coordination and energy. But maybe because I’m still afraid to leave the house. They are as sweet as ever, and I love their summery outfits!

  11. Wow you have been busy. Glad everything is going well even though you are exhausted. Have you tried dream feeding? I don’t know a lot about it since I haven’t given birth yet but I think it has to do with feeding them while they are asleep so that they can sleep longer.

  12. Oh those sweet little beauties! I can’t get enough pictures of them. They are too dear.

    I’m so glad you were able to show the old town off to them (and show them off to all your friends). These past few weeks sound crazy intense and I’m with teh previous commentors, time to RELAX!

    Looking forward to your travel-tips post.

  13. It sounds like your trip was awesome! I’m so thrilled for you! I know what you mean – the work is worth it but oh my gosh at the end of the day I’m dropping into bed with a sigh of pleasure. haha. It gets easier – or at least it has with one – I don’t have twins so maybe I’m talking out of my rear end. haha.

  14. Mara

    Wow, Egg – I am super impressed that you managed this trip with the babies. That is AMAZING. I’m sure you are exhausted and hope that you have a nice, low-key week to recover from it all! You are doing such a great job! Champ and Honey are so lucky to have you as their mama.

    P.S. I think Henry has Champ’s shirt. Except Henry’s is a nightgown-type-thing? Same pattern though! 🙂 Anyway, they are SO CUTE!

  15. hey you – i just wanted to say hi and i miss you! and good god, you MUST be exhausted. I get one bad night of sleep and I’m looney tunes for days, I seriously question my ability to handle sleep deprivation any more. xo

  16. sienna

    omg this pic is outofcontrol adorable. have a new appreciation for twin mommas. you guys are rockstars.

  17. Man, you SOUND exhausted! I wish there was someone nearby to give you a little relief now and then from the babes.

    It sounds like the nanny search went fantastic! So excited for you!

    And PS, those babes look so damn adorable!!

  18. AL

    omigod, I LOVE THEM! So, so adorable. L has the same onesie your Champ is in.

    I hope that the kiddos start going much longer stretches of sleep – I can imagine how tired you are with two babies waking through the night.

    Congrats to your man on graduating and HOORAY for finding a great nanny to care for your adorable little ones!

  19. Ahhh, I remember those days.

    I don’t mean that to sound trite or mean — I mean it to say, “This too shall pass”. You are doing AWESOME and you’re exposing your little beauties to so many fabulous things like friends and restaurants and family and traveling. It IS exhausting, but it’s well worth it. I found that when I was on the verge of breaking from total sleep deprivation, something changed and it got better. So here’s hoping you’re on the verge of a happy change in schedule (aka more sleep!).

    Lay low and relax with those cuties until the 4th. You TOTALLY deserve it. Also, yay mama for finding a nanny! Although going back to work can be heartbreaking, it will be SO MUCH EASIER if you know they are home being taken care of by a wonderful nanny.

    Much love!

  20. it’s been a while! can’t wait to hear the latest update! hope your trip goes well this weekend!

  21. My turn to finally say hi 🙂 I hope your little monkeys are doing better than every 3 hours now that it’s been another four weeks or so – and that YOU are doing better now, too! Here’s hoping your latest adventure was smooth sailing. Can’t wait to see how big your peanuts have gotten!

Leave a comment